Skip to content

Easing Off the Accelerator

July 21, 2008

I’d like to take a moment to talk about an issue that affects everyone these days: Gas.

In 1998, average gas prices were really low here in the US. I even have a photo of a station selling regular unleaded for $0.99/gallon around that time! Sadly, those days are but a faint memory with average prices over $4/gallon today.

IBOs have to put in a lot of miles traveling to and from plans, meetings, opens, and Major Functions. As I kept detailed logs for tax purposes, I see now that I spent an inordinate amount of time on the road. In 1997, I only drove 600 business miles (since I was just getting started). In 1998, that figure jumped to 8,680 miles. Finally, I only drove 6,782 miles in my final year in the business. That’s roughly 16,000 miles, and at the end I had nothing to show for it!

I figure my car got 25 mpg back then. That’s 640 gallons at $1.25, or $800. Today, driving that same amount would cost me $2,720, not to mention the additional wear and tear on the car from the accumulated miles. I can easily imagine the hurt in the wallet this is causing all IBOs.

If I were evaluating a home-based business today, I would look for something that is more resistant to rising gas prices and does not involve excessive amounts of driving. Unfortunately, with an Amway/Quixtar business, that’s exactly what you’ll be doing. You have to go out and prospect people, service retail customers, and attend meetings. All of these activities entails driving and lots of it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 12:50 pm

    I think gas prices will help bring down the tool scam, as the LCK’s will be forced to allow crossline IBO’s to attend major functions. Let the Seminars do the teaching/techniques, and the major functions can be used for product education, motivation, etc.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

