Skip to content

The Products I Still Have Today

July 24, 2008

I suspect many former IBOs have had such a bad experience with their System that when they leave the business, they want to have nothing to do with Amway/Quixtar, even if they may have liked the products. Count me as one of those people, but I’m not stupid to throw away everything. Tools were an easy choice because their value became zero upon leaving the business. Everything I kept continues to hold value for me to this day.

Without further ado, here’s a list of things I still have from my time in the Amway/Quixtar business:

  • Amway Queen Cookware: I must say that the cookware lasts a long-time and continues to work very well. It is very pricey, however, and I don’t know how it compares to the mid-range to high-end cookware you can get outside of the business.
  • Amway/Rubbermaid Food Containers: These are great for storing dried goods in the cupboard and food to be frozen or refrigerated in the fridge. The only downside is that you can’t use the tops in the microwave. They provide a couple microwaveable tops, but I’m constantly misplacing them, so I usually just put a paper towel or saran wrap on top.
  • Amway/Wedgewood Plates: The plates I continue to use the most often. One of them has a chip on it, but otherwise, they’re fine.
  • Amway/Oneida Flatware: The quality of the forks, spoons, and knives is pretty high. We’ve had no problems with them, and they look like they’ll last for many more years.
  • Amway Cooking Knife Set: The paring knife and 6-inch knife have chips on them, which have reduced their effectiveness over the years. The bread knife still functions well. I haven’t used the larger 8-inch knife all that much. I have another knife set from J.A. Henckels which I’ve been using more and more lately.
  • Oreck Vacuum Cleaner: Probably my worst purchasing decision from the business. I’m constantly having to clean out the rollers of hair and other debris. I need to replace this with a Dyson.
  • Whiteboard and stand: Repurposed from showing the plan, the whiteboard now holds my weekly to do list.

Evidently, my kitchen is still stocked with a lot of product! It’s interesting to note, however, that many of them were produced in partnership with an well-known outside company like Oneida, Wedgewood or Rubbermaid. For water filtration, I use a Brita filter instead of the Amway one (the product before the eSpring). Finally, I get my snacks, personal hygiene products, cleaning supplies, vitamins and other consumables from CostCo or the supermarket.

Ex-IBOs, do you have anything left from the product side of the business?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 9:26 pm

    Just don’t tell porkchopjim the products are any good, it would pop his bubble.

    Are you aware of how far superior the eSpring is compared to Brita? How much do you spend per year on Brita filters?

    Did you like any of the consumable products?

  2. July 24, 2008 9:57 pm

    I won’t tell PCJ if you don’t tell 🙂

    I’ve read the marketing on the eSpring, and I’m sure it’s a good product. For me, however, the Brita is good enough. Considering convenience, quality and price, I’m fine shopping elsewhere for my consumables. Most Amway-created products are fine, but they often fail my convenience and price tests.

    Finally, let’s not turn this comments thread into a discussion about product issues.

    I’m just looking to hear from ex-IBOs on what products they still have from their time in the business.

  3. Gina permalink
    July 24, 2008 11:55 pm

    I am not an x IBO but I have a warehouse full of cases and cases of energy drinks, 15,000 file folders, 2 vacuums, 3000 Styrofoam plates and cups, a commercial coffee maker, LOC wipes (which I hate), toilet bowl cleaner (that I also hate…too runny and smells bad), a case of Quixtar brand magic eraser sponges (that don’t work like the original by the way) and tons of other stuff that I certainly didn’t need for my 2 man operation of a business and most have no place in my building….but they are there.

  4. Mike permalink
    July 25, 2008 1:06 am

    I have a few products left over, and use them from time to time. Most of the stuff I got was to hit the 100 pv level and most I really never had a use for..

    The price of the items were not cost effective, well unless one is trying to build a business, so they could make lots of money so as to afford the darn stuff to start with.

  5. July 25, 2008 5:38 am

    Gina,

    I assume 6 months has passed since your employees bought those products, so you can’t return them to Quixtar. What are your plans, as they are obviously taking up space? Get your money back from your employees/former employees? Sell them on Craigslist/eBay? Give them to charity? What do ex-IBO’s do with the products?

  6. Gina permalink
    July 25, 2008 8:37 am

    Tex,
    yes much more than six moths had passed from when I found what the stuff was and where it was coming from. My first question to Quixtar was if I could return this stuff.
    What am I doing with them? Well, frankly I have no clue. I am using the file folders, but at the rate I need them to how many I have I should be stocked up for the next 10 years!!! I have gotten what money I could, for now, from my current employee for purchasing some products with the company credit card. Some products I gave to friends, like the 3 cases of freezer bags. No one wants the LOC wipes, so those I guess I will throw away. The toilet bowl cleaner I use but at this rate again I am stocked up for at least 10 years. I don’t know what to do with them.
    Excellent question, by the way, and great suggestion!!! Maybe I will look to sell some of the stuff on e-bay!!!!

  7. July 25, 2008 10:21 am

    Glad I could help.

    You could throw the LOC wipes in the direction of a charity, I’m sure the right one would be glad to have them.

    Plus, it’s a tax deductible contribution for you.

  8. Joecool permalink
    July 25, 2008 10:38 am

    I just used up the last of my bottle of LOC. I have no “negative” products left in my house now. LOL

  9. survivor642 permalink
    July 25, 2008 10:42 am

    At four years out of the biz, everything is gone that I can think of. For those of you who have any Amway products left, mark them with a red X, gather them up and donate them to a local charity for a tax deduction. The worm turns.

  10. July 25, 2008 1:10 pm

    Why the red X? You may send the message the products aren’t any good, then the charity may throw them away.

  11. survivor642 permalink
    July 25, 2008 5:33 pm

    OK, the red X was for “commie” products aka “negative” products. As a survivor I said, the worm has turned, the shoe’s on the other foot,what goes around comes around, etc. I vaguely remember a “negative products” party where red X’s would be put on all those non-amway products. Leave the red X off, fine with me. Most of the Amway products are OK, just a minimum of 50% more expensive and no better than name brand stuff from Walmart IMHO. At least this gets you a bigger tax deduction when you give them away since they are a “superior” product at a premium price.

  12. July 25, 2008 5:48 pm

    Gina…

    My poor woman. What became of your dream, are you at the high plateau? Quixtarisacult want to know?

Trackbacks

  1. Closing Out The Year « AMTHRAX

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

