Skip to content

Visiting a Diamond Mansion

July 29, 2008

I remember qualifying on an incentive to visit Diamond Clark and Diana Broome’s house in Loomis, California. Here’s what I wrote at the time in my journal:

It took almost 2.5 hours to get there but I made it finally. His house, to make an understatement, was huge. It was a 13,000 square foot mansion in every sense of the word. So, I guess Amway can buy these things for people if they are willing to do the work. And, after seeing what is possible, I want to make this work.

Boy, was I deep in the System’s clutches at the time! Little did I know where and how the real money was made in the business.

I wonder if they are still living in the same house. Out of curiosity, I looked up Floor’s humble 5,532 square foot mansion in Granite Bay on Zillow after seeing the address listed in the Genie SEC Filings. I see that they sold the house in 2001 for $1.7 million. I wonder if all of the Diamonds in my LOS are still living the life of luxury or if they have downscaled their lifestyles into smaller homes.

A Former Executive Diamond\'s Mansion

A birds-eye view of an Executive Diamond's Former Home

Did any readers ever visit their upline Diamond’s home? How was it, and do you know if they are still living there today?

45 Comments
  1. July 30, 2008 3:17 am

    How do you know they downsized when they sold their house?

  2. July 30, 2008 10:10 am

    I don’t know, which is why I asked a question.

  3. July 30, 2008 10:16 am

    I see. Have you kept in touch/can you get in touch with anyone that stayed in?

  4. Joecool permalink
    July 30, 2008 11:01 am

    I visited my diamond’s home. It was a modest 3 bedroom home in a middle to upper middle class neighborhood.

    What would be interesting to know, is if these same diamonds
    have mortgages or if they bought their homes in cash, as many claimed (at functions I attended).

  5. July 30, 2008 11:15 am

    I think a lot of them bought them for cash, or paid them off fast. Most states don’t allow you to have your home taken away if you’re sued, and real estate has been a good investment over the long haul.

  6. July 31, 2008 6:38 am

    One shyster that I know of in WWDB would have everyone believe he is living in a similar mansion, while he really lives in a flea bag rental next to the trailer park down near where the drug dealers hang out. Needless to say he doesn’t hold Quixtar meetings there. This fellow makes a good appearance on the road, the crook, and tries to convince every new recruit that he is this ultra successful type and sports a fake watch. See how the baby vultures work? He takes fake it till he makes it to heart.

  7. July 31, 2008 8:33 am

    What level is he?

  8. Joecool permalink
    July 31, 2008 6:12 pm

    Tex, I doubt diamonds in my state pay for houses in cash. A “middle class” home in my neighrborhood is running around $700,000.

  9. July 31, 2008 6:33 pm

    Perhaps Hawaii is an exception. How many Diamonds live in Hawaii?

  10. Joecool permalink
    August 1, 2008 10:17 am

    Depends on which system. I know of one N21 diamond and 6 WWDB diamonds. These are just the ones I know of. I’m sure there must be others.

    Of course the real question is how many bought their homes in cash with Amquix income?

  11. August 1, 2008 10:50 am

    Can you name them?

  12. Joecool permalink
    August 1, 2008 11:07 am

    I don’t remember the N21 diamond. Mike???? I attended an N21 recruitment meeting a while back. (BTW, it was similar to WWDB).

    WWDB – Toshi Taba, Mike Woods, Matt Tsuruda, Teresa Tsuruda, Scott Harimoto, Dane Kaneshiro

  13. August 1, 2008 12:51 pm

    That’s a lot of Diamonds for a relatively small place. Do they have a lot of volume outside of Hawaii, and/or were they originally from somewhere else and later moved to Hawaii?

  14. Joecool permalink
    August 1, 2008 1:20 pm

    I think the N21 diamond was Mike Apele.

    I’m pretty sure that these Hawaii diamonds are local, but I don’t knwo if they have international legs. They may very well have platinum legs on the Mainland US.

  15. August 2, 2008 4:24 am

    If much of their volume is in Hawaii, that’s a very high concentration/percentage of Diamonds in one place. Do you think the higher prices in Hawaii contribute to this? Or folks don’t have as many distractions? Or some other factor as well?

  16. Coalson permalink
    February 15, 2009 1:21 am

    No…Most Diamonds have business all over the world. Actually you’ll find that the higher level pins generally have more business outside of the U.S. than they do inside. The Apele’s have long since retired from actively building their Amway/Quixtar business and continues to live off of the residual income. The other Hawaii Diamonds that I know of are the Tsuruda’s….I believe they are still active with WWDB. The basic system that Amway/Quixtar is built on is quite simple and truly amazing, however it is Unfortunately also very prone to corruption. Just like many aspects of our American government, the idea is great but the people often screw it up.

  17. Exfounders ruby permalink
    March 22, 2010 8:11 am

    Wwdb has been in the skids for some time. Bankruptcies and divorces with spousal abuse are the only things that keep them in the headlines these days – GDuncan bankruptcy proceedings since 1997,DKosege messy divorce and anger managment, Wolgamott pulling a Tiger Woods….you name. The only thing they haven’t done is follow through on staying debt free – one of their major commandments.
    Am I missing anything here? I’m sure their is more in this true reality show.

  18. March 22, 2010 8:24 am

    Exfounders Ruby: There’s good discussion about this on the following blog post:

    https://amthrax.wordpress.com/2009/03/12/wwdb-triple-diamond-greg-duncan-bankrupt/

    When did you leave the business and what was your reason? Not making enough profit after expenses? Disappointed in the leadership of WWDB? Found a new opportunity?

  19. April 25, 2010 3:29 pm

    ExFoundersRuby- haha remember the years from 2000-2008 when you had to spend every meeting reciting those lies “it’s not Amway … it’s not Amway …it’s not Amway”
    “this is Alticor, completely different” we were suckers, but deep down we knew we were playing the fool regurgitating things that just didn’t feel right.

    Then Amway turns around and celebrates 50 years of Amway as if the dismal failure that was Quixtar never even happened. Should have been 42 years Amway plus 8 years Quixtar if my math is right. They assured all of us that “it wasn’t Amway”.

    It’s a ridiculous supposed “business opportunity” where the reps on the street have to answer all the lies and deception of the Amway and BSM groups (as if we have any say in the overnight changes and fleecing they make without a single thought to ethics) such as WWDB and the moral high-ground they elevated themselves to on stage. As they acted like God was blessing them because of their obedience to his work. Yeah right.

    Later we find out: GDuncan was taking out interest only loans and selling products such as XS under the name All-In behind the corporation’s back which caused him to get caught up in a legal battle in which he couldn’t come up with a few million to service all of his debt, Godly debt I’m sure. DShores walked away from a huge mortgage in Whitefish in the exact years I would have been listening to him on stage talking about all the Godly money he was making.

    These guys aren’t perfect, no one is, but they pushed their scheming tool tactics under the umbrella of God’s work… which seems to make their bottom feeding tactics a little extra atrocious.

    One of the best things that Amway has recently done, to their credit, is change the Free Shipping to customers and limited only for orders placed within their free customer sites so BSM groups like WWDB can stop the $50 a month racket of personal websites. That was such a ripoff, those sites were so fake and meaningless.

    We could’ve, probably did, know each other. I just figured it out a little earlier than you, of course you were raking in more profits which kept their claws in you a little longer I suppose.

  20. Burned Out With MV permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:28 am

    The big house, big toy’s and in debt up to their eyeballs is nothing new, same thing back in the early 80’s, only the car was a drop top 450SL ($45K or so we were told, a huge amount in 1980 for a kid like me back then just making just over min wage) that I heard was repoesessed and the big house went to the bank after my DD’s line crashed.

  21. The Trush permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:41 pm

    There is only 1 diamond in Hawaii. Matt Tsuruda… Mike Woods is barely an emerald if that and Scott Harimoto is an emerald barely at that also…

    Both moved because their income in Amway would probably buy them something equivalent of what a Sr. Engineer could afford…

    Why would someone move from paradise (Hawaii) to Texas or to Gloomy Portland.. Especially when they love the ocean..

  22. Joecool permalink
    September 9, 2010 10:06 am

    Scott Harimoto moved to Camas Washington

  23. bodizafa permalink
    September 13, 2010 1:15 am

    sooo anyone know what happened to mike apele

  24. Hawaii Diamonds permalink
    December 22, 2010 12:45 am

    Can you imagine only 1 diamond in Hawaii. There use to be three solid diamonds, Matt Tsuruda, Scott Harimoto and Mike Woods.

    Mike Woods and Scott are probably Sapphires.. All of the directs that Scott went diamond with either fell out of qualification or are barely platinum by the skin of their nose.. I feel sorry for them. many of thm have been in the business for 20 years (and still dumb enough to think they will make money) and running 4000 pv… Gary Chang, Troy Kimura….and the list goes on…

    Mike Woods platinums all quit.. Pat Nakamura selling Monavie in fact I saw him now making a living at the stadium swap meet..

  25. Joecool permalink
    December 22, 2010 12:03 pm

    Scott Harimoto now lives in Washington.

    He originally had 7 downline platinums. Actually 1 platinum and 6 rubies.
    It was Calvin Lee, Gary Chang, Liane Lum, Troy Kimua, Andrew Yee, Gerard Thomas and Brian Hue. Some of these folks had downline platinums. None of them are platinum today. Some of then surprisingly are still in the business but are nowhere near any pin pevel. So much for walking away and collecting income for life.

    I bet Scott works harder at maintaining the group now than when he worked at Hawaiian Tel as an engineer.

  26. aurora permalink
    December 25, 2010 3:45 am

    Are you sure Mike Woods is no longer a diamond? wow

  27. aurora permalink
    December 26, 2010 3:54 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  28. Garima permalink
    February 8, 2011 12:19 am

    All of you anti- Amway people i know it for a certain that you just cannot beat their line of products even if you try hard. So its better to just shut up and watch Amway owners get rich. Moreover silly blogs like these will never hamper or paychecks so we really dont care.

  29. aurora permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:28 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  30. Vogel permalink
    February 8, 2011 8:19 am

    Garima said: “All of you anti- Amway people i know it for a certain that you just cannot beat their line of products even if you try hard. So its better to just shut up and watch Amway owners get rich. Moreover silly blogs like these will never hamper or paychecks so we really dont care.”

    Nobody’s talking about the products here. You apparently didn’t notice the topic of the thread; why is that? Is it just an involuntary reflex to blurt out weak defensive statements about Scamway everywhere you go?

    If you are dismissive of the power of blogs to affect your business, then you are simply a very naive businessperson (confirmed by your participation in Scamway). Business leaders in all retail sectors are now profoundly aware of the impact that a small group of vocal online bloggers can have on their sales; those that ignore this fact do so at their own peril.

  31. William permalink
    February 8, 2011 8:34 am

    Hi Amthrax, (No need to post this comment…just an observation about Garima).

    Orrin is obviously paying someone named ‘Garima’ too bomb the site and post useless crap in order to get different posts to appear in the ‘Recent Comments’ section vs. all of the latest ‘ex-Team Members’ comments that have been appearing. Garima is just stirring up a reaction out of all of the other pro-amthrax commentors and that is what he wants as the bickering and debates are happening under different posts that he could care a less about.

    Just wanted to point out my thoughts on that matter…

  32. February 8, 2011 8:52 am

    William: Doubtful that it’s Orrin behind this. He wants nothing to do with Amway anymore. Garima is obviously trying to stir the pot, but it’s just showing readers that he or she is really uninformed and ignorant.

  33. joeluke permalink
    March 2, 2011 3:07 am

    can you image 20 years in the business and you have 1 direct leg.. Andrew Yee

  34. May 31, 2011 6:59 pm

    Hi Clark,

    I have been trying to get in touch with someone at INA for years so I could rejoin. However I have been unable to find anyone in INA who would be my sponsor.

    I am presently the Business Development Director for Profit Builders Inc. at http://www.prosperitybreakthroughs4u.com; the Business Development Director for the Next Step Life Success Center at http://www.ajobforheroes.com and the Business Development Director for Cal Vet Solar Works at http://www.calvetsolarworks.com and Swords to Plowshares at http://www.stp-sf.org
    If you know of any emerald or above who would sponsor me please let me know. My phone number is 415-678-9965. As you will see I am a world class business consultant. Thank you. For more information about me and what I do please review my websites. I loved my experience with INA and would like very much to renew my business to help US Military veterans succeed in life and business.

  35. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:53 am

    Michael
    That is hilarious! Forgive me if I am misunderstanding, but why would you come here to find a sponsor? As a ‘world class business consultant’ wouldn’t you be connected enough, are you serious you can’t find one website from a Emerald or above, that is INA?
    Seriously have you read the comments here and would you target veterans who are already on a fixed income?

  36. Burned Out With MV permalink
    June 2, 2011 4:03 am

    No problem I’ll sponsor him, Mike just send me $3000 a month and expect nothing back in return but retoric and get all your friends to do the same. 🙂

  37. I Quit ( and glad I Did) permalink
    June 2, 2011 4:57 am

    NO! NO! HES MINE! HES MINE! I have a much bigger tool trunk than all of you! I WENT TO THREE SEMINARS LAST MONTH! I GET TWO SHIPMENTS OF THE BIGGEST SYSTEM PACKAGE EVERY MONTH AND I HAVE SPECIAL ORDERS TOO! I’m your guy Mike, really! TRUST ME! I’M THE MOST PLUGGED IN OF THEM ALL! I CAN GET YOU YOUR GOALS AND DREAMS! JUST GIVE ME TWO YEARS AND YOU’LL BE THERE! Orrin is my mentor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  38. Burned Out With MV permalink
    June 2, 2011 9:18 am

    IQ, he is mine, I have dibs, also Orrin is only a Royal, Brig (My mentor) is a Double Crown so there….
    :-p

  39. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 2, 2011 11:46 am

    You people are hilarious!
    Seriously, I question the mental state or intelligence of someone who would come here to find a sponsor, or is this a JOKE?

  40. I Quit ( and glad I Did) permalink
    June 2, 2011 1:02 pm

    I quit.

  41. Vogel permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:16 pm

    ROFLMFAO!!!

  42. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:58 pm

    Hey Vogel~
    It’s good to see you came to visit, we miss your posts!

  43. Burned Out With MV permalink
    June 3, 2011 9:22 am

    I quit too, it has to be a joke post on this blog.

    Still the way the binary crumbles for those who don’t know, it don’t matter who your sponsor is. As when the inside leg you get to build falls apart you will still not get any drop downs from your high and mighty upline to balance it, so you still don’t get paid by MV, I know one guy who had several million points on his outside when he said after many years “Screw this, it don’t work”, then they don’t know who you are and call you names.

    😦

  44. downline_nomore permalink
    July 24, 2011 6:05 am

    I was an Amway distributor under Scott Harimoto. The first couple of years, I was just trying to learn the system, getting to know the people of WWDB, and actually enjoyed attending the meetings specially those we had to attend long distance like, FED, Family Reunion, etc.

    I didn’t care about the name Amway then and I wasn’t afraid to tell my prospects that it is either. I started thinking seriously about the credibility of the business when my upline diamond teaches how to counter-act a prospect if the name “Amway” comes up. I didn’t like the idea as if we’re trying to hide something and it bothered me a lot.

    Nonetheless, I stayed in for solid 5-8years. I had a couple of downlines and some in the mainland. The reason I probably didn’t make money is because I did not sponsor enough people to do the same I was doing. Between my wife and myself, after attending all local and remote(fly to mainland), and on weekly standing orders, etc, I’d say we invested a good $10K+ during our stay.

    Granted we didn’t make money but I will tell you this, I did learn much from the books on how to deal with people, enjoyed traveling to many different states, and going to Canada for the first time.

    The smartest financial move I made then was when I moved my family to the mainland and cut all ties with my upline diamond. Brainwashed, it took a year or two telling myself I’m a winner, I’m a winner and not feeling guilty anymore of leaving the business. Today, I’m a successful Systems Engineer and I’m happy with it.

    The only regret I have is leaving my downlines behind and one of them is a good friend…

  45. July 25, 2011 4:24 pm

    I remember visiting Claude and Lana Hamiliton’s $2 million dollar house here in Bedford Nova Scotia, they were building it from scratch at the time (this was about 2 years ago) and I’m not sure if they’re living in it still, I would imagine so, since they’re policy council members still in TEAM (from what I could understand). It was supposed to be a “Dream Builder” evening for the ladies.

Comments are closed.

