Skip to content

Joecool on Retirement

December 16, 2008

Joecool recently wrote about the possibility of retiring from the Amway/Quixtar critic scene, and I must say, I can understand where he’s coming from. He’s been blogging about this subject for the past five years now, not to mention all of the time he was living, breathing, and thinking about “the business.”

I came back to the discussion on Amway/Quixtar for a few reasons: (1) to get off my chest some of the things that disturbed me about the business and (2) to help people who are experiencing the same things that I did make a more informed decision about their future. I feel that my criticism of the business and the System are still valid in many ways. I would like to hope that IBOs can earn good money by selling affordable, high-quality products, without spending a ton of cash on useless motivation and vacuous teaching. The corporation and IBOs who visit the site say that things are changing, but I’ve heard that familiar refrain before ten years ago. I’ll believe it when I see it. On this blog, I’ve also taken issue with some former-IBOs who have left to move to different companies; I feel like they are continuing to perpetuate the abuses I saw in my time. From my point of view, I’m correct; from theirs, I’m just another critic who doesn’t know what I’m talking about.

Everyone has their own destiny to follow, and each one of us is free to choose to believe one thing today and another thing tomorrow. I was once a hardcore believe in Amway/Quixtar, but now I’m not. What will your ultimate destiny be in the business? If it’s not working out financially, I really encourage you to evaluate what’s wrong. I would hate to have you spend five, ten, or fifteen years in the business and still be stuck at 100PV. One of the worst things that you can do to yourself is regret the mistakes that you made or the decisions that you left on the table. I, for one, believe that you need to trust yourself and not something else: your upline, a deity, or chance. The System and the kingpins all say to take control of your business and to make a decision. That decision can cut both ways: do more or leave. There are plenty of other opportunities out there in the world other than Amway/Quixtar. Spend some time exploring, and you might just find something that you can find yourself getting truly passionate about.

One day, I’ll have said my say and walk away. I’m not quite finished yet, but like Joecool, perhaps I’ll slow down on the amount of posting that I do in the future.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joecool permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:04 am

    Thanks. I recently felt as if I had “said enough” where the burden I felt regarding quixtar and amway had been lifted. So I contemplated retirement from the blogging world, at least with regards to this controversial business. But I received numerous emails, private messages, and blogs posts encouraging me to continue the fight. I have decided to continue the fight on a lesser scale. I will continue to update my blog, but some of the newer posts may be a reprint of an older post where the issue still exists today, rather than brand new material. I thank all those who supported my cause over the years.

  2. December 16, 2008 7:30 pm

    One nice thing about the Internet is that it is static. People doing searches for information will find Joecool’s work for some time to come. IBOFB was correct when he said as much in a post about the Internet war. Joecool’s thoughts count.

    Joecool, I hope you will continue to comment. The cause needs you. QIAC

  3. Gina permalink
    December 16, 2008 7:36 pm

    I see where JC is coming from as well. IBO’s have nothing new to bring to the discussion…it is always the same issues and the same excuses…almost verbatim I might add…at some point people need to be left to form their own conclusions. JC has posted so much helpful information that is certainly valid and cannot be disputed by IBO’s no matter how hard they try and people who are questioning their involvement or are thinking of joining see that and make what they will. I for one hope JC stays on, his insight is valuable…it helped me tremendously!!!!

  4. January 5, 2009 3:30 pm

    What are the other options you explored in last 10 year. I am a relatively new IBO and still open for other options as well.

    Please enlighten us for a Low cost business opportunity.

  5. Joecool permalink
    January 6, 2009 11:43 am

    RS – buy and sell on ebay. No cost, low risk. WOrk as much or as little as you want.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

