Skip to content

What Have You Done Since Amway?

January 6, 2009

NOTE: Here’s a post from the beginning of this year that I’d like to feature again.

I’ve read a number of web comments from gung-ho IBOs who call people who leave the Amway business opportunity as losers and quitters. They’ll say things like, “Quitters never win,” or “Winners never quit.”

I laugh when I read these comments, because I know in a few years, many of those people will have quit. Yet, I’m here to tell the “quitters” that they don’t have to be down on themselves. There are many opportunities beyond the Amway/Quixtar/MonaVie business where you can be successful. Sometimes, the business doesn’t work out, but quitting doesn’t mean that you are a quitter nor loser.

My advice is to find something that you love, and you won’t worry so much about money, fancy cars and big mansions. These things may come as a result of following your passion, but they won’t be the goal. This could mean finding a job that aligns with your interests; contrary to what is said on stage, a job doesn’t have to be a bad thing!

If you’re entrepreneurially inclined, take advantages of the efficiencies brought by the 21st century economy. Use the Internet to really take out the middleman and connect with the customer directly. Amway and MonaVie say they do this, but the truth is, your entire upline is the middleman between you and maximum profits. Sell products or services that last beyond a month… consumables are the backbone of many MLM companies — use it over a month, buy it the next month. What about selling something that people can use over and over again?

One thing that I agree with what’s frequently said on stage is to be a lifelong learner. Learn a new skill or set of skills and see what opportunities they’ll lead you to. I’ve applied this to my own life… constantly learning new skills to apply to a changing market and economy.

Ex-IBOs, what have you done since Amway? What advice would you give to people who have left recently or are thinking of quitting?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joecool permalink
    January 6, 2009 10:38 am

    When I first left Amway, it was a bit strange. It seemed as though I had so much free time on my hands. We were so busy attending meetings and product pick up, etc., it was like I had a new life altogether. I slowly started to do things I enjoyed like watching my favorite TV shows, working out, joined a bowling league, etc. I also noticed that I had extra money because I wasn’t spending it on overpriced products and useless motivational materials.

    The biggest thing though, was when I interacted with people, I wasn’t schemming and thinking of how to involve them in my business (somehow). I could just be myself. This was the biggest difference. Oh, and did I mention I had a lot more cash because it wasn’t wasted on the business and on business support?

  2. TennZen permalink
    January 7, 2009 12:26 pm

    I felt really weird in the first few months after quitting Amway (WWDB LOS). But eventually I got a life again, and a clue. It feels great to talk to people without feeling that little pang of guilt (should I mention the business to them?)

    After Amway, I went back to school (it was amazing how much money I had available after not having to buy books, tapes, soap and koolaid) and eventually earned a law degree.

    I now have a successful law practice, a great life, and no regrets.

    To those who have recently quit or who are thinking of quitting, do your best to just cut ties with your former Amway friends. Cold turkey. Else they’ll hound you to death or shame you for being, in their opinion, a loser.

    You’re not a loser, trust me.

    Chalk up the nightmare to experience and then go out and live.

  3. Joecool permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:55 am

    One more thing about winners never quit. It doesn;t mean you stay in the same job or business forever and never quit. It means you never stop trying. If Amway doesn’t make you money, find another way to accomplish your goals. Many successful business owners have tried soem venture and quit one to go to another. In the end, they never quit trying, and that’s what IBOs are confused about when they refer to never quitting.

  4. FreeFromQ* permalink
    July 9, 2009 11:23 am

    When I was in the business – I mainly focused on what I DIDN’T have – fancy cars, mansion, trips, etc.

    When I left the business – I started focusing on what I DID have – a wonderful spouse, friends, and free time to enjoy the world around me.

    Sometimes you win by quitting!!

  5. MichMan permalink
    July 11, 2009 4:28 am

    ***********

    When I was in the business – I mainly focused on what I DIDN’T have – fancy cars, mansion, trips, etc.

    When I left the business – I started focusing on what I DID have – a wonderful spouse, friends, and free time to enjoy the world around me.

    ***********

    Well said.

    Same here. (plus wonderful kids)

  6. JohnGinKC permalink
    July 26, 2009 1:20 am

    When i left Amway (quixtar when i joined) I felt very CONFLICTED. I was very committed, even burnt some bridges with friends and family trying to build my business. I wasn’t “brain-washed by money hungry zombies” but i WAS for the first time in my life, confident about the fact that i could do something with the life i was given, and not be a bump on a log so to speak. I read the books, listened to the CD’s and did a lot of work. I sponsored people, built a little bit of personal width, and a little depth and took people to conferences with me. It just didn’t last very long because no one wants to commit at such a high level and see no results for an extended period of time. I feel bad for some of the things i have said to people in/out of the business. I used to think that no matter what my path was in/out of the business that my upline would care about me, but i am finding out that isn’t necessarily true. i talk to my sponsor and his sponsor but i still feel judged by some of the people who are still “in” but haven’t figured that their 3 years and $30k spent is just not going to produce anything for them.

    I delayed some things in my life while i was starting my business, and i have now come to terms that i liked certain things about my life in Amway, and i developed myself quite a bit as well, but i do not like that i felt guilty about decisions that didn’t actually harm another human being in a physical or emotional way, and “quitting” the business doesn’t hurt anyone, it just changes their path in life. For some people it changes it for the better, and i have to believe that sometimes it changes it for the worse.

    All i know is in my case, i know that the time/money I invested into the business was really just invested into me, it just wasn’t the right vehicle for me and that i was mature enough to look at it the situation and make a rational, balanced decision FOR MY SITUATION AND NEEDS.

    However, if you are reading this and questioning your situation, first off, think about YOUR SITUATION, not your uplines, not your parents, the only other people you base your decision off of is YOU, YOUR SPOUSE, and YOUR KIDS (or dependents like aging parents or family memebers who rely on you and your support whether time/financial) and draw out the positives and negatives of the situation and make a decision over time.

    I fought with my decision so much that it really did a number on me.

    I have now started a career, and actually own my own business and can actually produce the LIFESTYLE THAT I WANT FOR MYSELF, and i make as much or as little as i want, and i work when i want. I am in the Publishing/Advertising industry with a company that is 5yrs old and is growing like crazy and people like our concept and buy tons of advertising and our clients are satisfied. I can go out any day and cold call, and do sales and sell a product that isn’t considered “taboo” or MLM or any home based business stuff that SHUNS people away even if it is the best stuff out there. I don’t have to call friends and family and make awkward requests that they support me by buying my products. The best thing is that i don’t have to convince anyone to join me and my decision to participate/work for this company to make money for myself, its all based off my work.

    I have friends now again that have taken me back even though i cut them out of my life for 2 1/2 yrs and said awful things to like “your never gonna make it in life” and “Your not full-filling your calling in life”, I have family members who want to spend time with me because i don’t come over with catalogs anymore, and i have time/money to take my wife on a date every now and again. I pay my bills/rent and even have enough left to have an occasional BEER. All while not feeling like I need to confess for not “delaying my gratification”

    I have found out Life is all about BALANCE.

    So welcome everyone who has had their run with a great successful company like Amway or other MLM’s, but learned it made you better, and not become a hater or bitter, but know that their is life after these businesses, and it can be AWESOME, no matter what anyone thinks.

    Best of luck to ALL of us!
    ~JG

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

