Skip to content

BWW Spring Leadership 2009 in San Jose

April 20, 2009

BWW Spring Leadership 2009

In the nearly ten years since I quit, I have yet to be prospected by an Amway IBO. This weekend, however, I knew exactly where they were going to be! I was in San Jose on Friday evening when I saw “BWW Spring Leadership April 18-19” adorning a sign next to the San Jose Civic Auditorium. My former System, INA, frequently held opens at the Civic Auditorium. I could not pass up this opportunity to do some more investigation.

BWW planned four Spring Leaderships in the month of April: Richmond, VA, London, Canada, San Jose, CA, and Dallas, TX. I wonder how the economic downturn in the United States is affecting attendance at these Spring Leaderships. Tickets for Leadership started at $100 ($105 at the door) per person1. Looking at the line, there were a sizable number of people in attendance, but I don’t think they filled the Civic Auditorium (max 3,000) to capacity. I would estimate an attendance of about 1000 people over the weekend.

The biggest surprise was the racial demographic of the crowd. The vast majority of IBOs — at least 80% — were of Southeast Asian descent. While I know that that BWW group in the Bay Area has several Indian Diamonds, I was still unprepared to see such a large percentage of Southeast Asians in the crowd. This was not the case with INA ten years ago, where Caucasians made up the majority of IBOs. Finally, by my estimate, most of the IBOs were also in their twenties or early thirties. Young and impressionable, just like I was!

This weekend was very hot in the Bay Area, and I bet it was uncomfortable to be in those suits and business dresses. I know it’s called “business attire,” but here in the Bay Area, it’s a bit overkill.

I did speak to one IBO. He never mentioned the Amway or Quixtar name to me. He just said that this was the annual Spring Leadership for people who run their own businesses. What struck me as odd, however, was that he emphasized that everyone attending the meeting was management level and up! I wanted to ask him more questions, but decided against doing so. He exuded the typical excited IBO air, and I didn’t want to poo-poo his attitude and “steal his dream.”

Click on the images to see the larger versions. Click again to see the original photo.


1 I don’t know if prospects got into the conference for free or if they had to pay $100 to attend.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Joecool permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:19 am

    Yes, IBOs own their own business so they are all management level and above. LOL

  2. April 20, 2009 10:45 am

    I guess so. It just seems like — along with the suit — that IBOs go far out of their way to give an air of professionalism when it’s not always warranted. I’d rather have someone speak to me honestly while wearing more casual clothes than a slick-talker wearing a fancy suit.

  3. Joecool permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:58 pm

    Yes, in many cases, the suit is the only professional part of their business. LOL

    If the business actually worked and people made profits, nobody would care if the attire was casual or whatever. The way the systems teach Amway, it’s just a bunch of props and tricks designed to look impressive.

    It’s like the old saying my friends and I had about cars.
    “All show and no go” Those were the cars that looked nice but had little horsepower.

  4. Joecool permalink
    April 21, 2009 9:46 am

    Did anyone note who the speakers were? Someone left a post on my blog identifying speakers for a WWDB spring conference and they were all old diamonds, all of them having been in the business prior to 1997, except for two foreign diamonds from Korea.

  5. April 21, 2009 11:04 am

    I know one of the speakers was A. Figueredo. He spoke on Dreams, Goals and Gameplanning. I don’t know what his level is in the business. Other than that, I don’t know who spoke. Maybe people will blog or Twitter about the event in due time.

  6. aurora permalink
    January 8, 2011 7:04 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  7. Joecool permalink
    January 8, 2011 9:40 pm

    I sat in a function where Brad told IBOs to quit their jobs if they could not get time off for a function. He also taught the crap about paying your business full retail for personal use because then you had “profit” to show in your business to use towards functions. Oh, and yeah, he taught that Amway couples have a 2% divorce rate compared to the 60% like the rest of the world.

  8. aurora permalink
    January 13, 2011 12:06 pm

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  9. Joecool permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:22 pm

    I am pretty sure the strict dress code is still part of WWDB. They wanted you to portray success even if your weren’t successful. I’m from Hawaii and we once had a meeting in July at a high school auditorium and there was no air conditioning. Almost died from heat and I;m sure everyone’s cleaning bill went up after that function.

Trackbacks

  1. The Six Cardinal Rules of BWW « Amthrax
  2. Missed it by that much! BWW Summer Conference in San Jose « Amthrax

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

