Skip to content

How Were You Prospected?

March 2, 2011

Here’s a question to my readers. How were you prospected into Amway, MonaVie, TEAM, R3Global or WWDB?

You can omit the names of your sponsors (to protect the “innocent”), but in general terms, let us know how you got roped into the clutches of your uplines.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. aurora permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:23 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  2. Joecool permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:36 am

    Aurora, no kidding? I had so many tapes. My sponsor said tapes will get people in but I don’t know of anyone but you who got interested from a tape.

    Anyway, I had a bad impression of Amway because I got tricked into attending a meeting as a college student. But later maybe 10 years later, a friend of mine got in an achieved platinum (Gold Direct at the time) and said it was easy and he assured me that he could get me to that level. That’s when I jumped in.

  3. aurora permalink
    March 3, 2011 11:10 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  4. I Quit ( and glad I did) permalink
    March 3, 2011 5:05 pm

    I got started in A which then went Q of course and then I jumped to MV with Team. I was approached by a guy I worked with. I really didn’t know him very well but I knew him somewhat. Anyway he said something about making money and had my attention. I don’t remember much about the plan but I remember thinking it seemed legit. After all I work with the guy and I know where he lives so it must be ok. Anyway thats not what put me in. It was a tape. Sorry Joe but its true. My future sponsor,( who is a really cool guy by the way cuz he woke up and stopped drinkin the kool aid too!) gave me three tapes to listen to before he got back with me in two or three days. (as this is what is taught. This is called the “follow thru”) These tapes were specifically selected as the “first nite tapes” because they covered all of the various personality types. (read Personality Plus, its available thru your local Teambots tool trunk)

    I was helping a relative move out of state the next day so I had some windshield time to check out these tapes. The first one was a real drag because it was all facts, figures, numbers, economic principles etc. etc. I only made it thru maybe 15 minutes and that one was gone. The next tape was even worse, some boring dude with a monotone voice and a southern accent. His wife was even worse! Especially when she started crying! Do you have any idea what a woman with a coal mining accent sounds like crying and babbling!?!? EJECTVILLE!!! One more to try… I start listening to this dude asking me “What did you see when you saw this idea?” Then he started talking about all this cool stuff like living debt-free and job free etc. etc. Next thing you know I’m dreamin’ like a madman!!! I’M IN!! SIGN ME UP! LETS DO DIS!!!

    So I get back with my new sponsor the next day. (I went to his house! He didn’t even have to chase me!) Ohhh the pain. The embarassment! Like a lamb to the slaughter. And I got started!

    In his defense I must say my sponsor genuinely believed we were doing a good thing. You know, helping people. So did I. For years we pounded it. He eventually went round table and I hit profit sharing. Then all the garbage started happening that you can read about on this site. AND EVENTUALLY WE BOTH WOKE UP AND NOW WE ARE HUMANS WITH FREE THINKING AGAIN! It’s kind of strange to think back on this stuff cuz it seems like a lifetime ago. If theres someone researching Team or A or Q reading this BEWARE!!! I’ve just told you how the “system” can begin the independent thinking removal process. YOU”VE BEEN WARNED!!

  5. March 4, 2011 12:27 am

    Editor’s Note: This comment is from Trapped By Team:

    I know my storey would help a lot of people and most of you would not believe me. Lets just say that I’ve been around Team before it was Team. Before Monavie, before it was Team of Destiny (TOD), before Amway. Before Orrin was plugging into Jim & Sue Pare and Ron & Toby Hale (which were sponcered downline from Dexter Yager).

    I lived in Flint, MI and got involved with my sponcer when he wasn’t even a 1000 pin in Amway and now he is a Team Policy Coucil member. He’s one of a few among 250,000 people sponcered. I watched him spin lies and tell people what they wanted to hear, it became a science to sponcer someone, and it still is. I’ve seen many key leaders, open meeting speakers, seminar speakers, Silvers, Gold’s, Rubies,Emeralds and even DIAMONDS in Amway and Team QUIT. THEY PACKED IT UP AND REALIZED THIS DOESNT WORK.

    I’ve seen it all and heard it all. I was involved in all the ‘secret’ meetings, promotional events, gatherings, whatever you want to call them. I ran all the events, open meetings, local seminars, major functions… you name it, I did it. I attended all the free trips and leadership retreats, Fun in the Sun.

    At the end of the day… YOUR JUST A NUMBER.

    ITS NOT ABOUT THE ********TRUE******* RELATIONSHIPS, ITS ABOUT ACHIEVING THE NEXT LEVEL OF SUCCESS.

    For the NEW people reading this thinking, these people on here are negative losers because they quit, they are trying to tear down other people’s dreams…. YOU DON’T GET IT. I DIDN’T GET IT.

    For YEARS I looked at negative websites online as LIES. LOSERS trying to pull people down into their negative situation. Some Teams even contracted out Authors, or shall I say-welcomed them- to write specific books, 100-200 pages to combat this negativity online… does anyone remember the titles:

    The Quixtar Price is Right
    http://www.World Wide Whinners .com
    ProSumer

    Etc etc.

    These books were to STOP the new guy from believing the “lies” online. Really it was a way to control your sponcering ratio so you could show 10 plans and sponcer 8 people vs: 4 because they read ‘negative’ views online, which often was the truth.

    Casey Combden influenced Orrin, Chris, Tim and Bill the MOST by taking about his ‘dripping jewellery’ and ‘riches’at the majors back between 1995-1998. Jim & Sue Pare effected them but in a different way. Orrin aspired to be more like Casey and Chris Brady aspired to more like Jim Pare. LISTEN to Casey and Jim’s old tapes and you will agree with me.

    When Casey built his business (without the Internet – therefore no truth was able to be spoken – 1989-1995) This was when Orrin and Chris were getting involved in Amway. Casey would speak from stage and it set a fire in their hearts to achieve the same dream. A STADIUM of followers – chasing their Dreams. I heard the same thing with other Policy Leaders. I was backstage at a major and seen Dexter’s checks… most of his money came not from Amway – but from internet services corporation aka: the name of his ‘tool’ company. Nothing has changed after all these years…

    …its the SAME deal. I quit when Team left Quixtar and it was not easy. I left with nothing and now I can’t get back those 12 years of my life. My kids are older and I missed out on so many moments in life.

  6. March 4, 2011 5:38 pm

    @I Quit : You said that AFTER your upline and you went Round Table and Profit Sharing, “then all the garbage started happening” rather than before… I believe you might be either making things up or exaggerating. Unless you can give specifics, it is more of a slur.

    Many people are chasing after Profit Sharing and Round Table right now but after reading your post, they might be inclined to think, “I don’t know what is coming!” So back up your words with facts, or please do not make allegations.

    Thanks.

  7. March 4, 2011 5:53 pm

    The closer you get to these guys, the more your eyes start to open. It is easy to spot the BS when you are one of the guys/gals on the inside seeing how they operate.

    Rykel – You are just a little pawn my friend.

    Keep up the good fight! I am proud of your stamina and determination. It takes either some giant ‘boys’ or a very low i.q to stick it out with Orrin.

    I think I already know which category you fall under.

  8. aurora permalink
    March 5, 2011 5:02 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  9. humiliated permalink
    March 5, 2011 7:57 am

    I had someone I was very good friend talk to me about Monavie. I was complaining about back pain and unbeknownst to me, they were already involved and started talking about this amazing product that had helped them with their arthritic pain.They went on about the liquid glucosamine it contained and how it is 80% more effective then in pill form. I asked what store I could get it at, assuming it would be a health food store and was told that I had to buy it from them. I then “got it” and said this is a pyramid scheme. I was assured that it wasn’t, it was just an incredible product being sold in an innovative way. I trusted this person so I did listen, although, looking back, warning bells did go off. But, I thought. “this person wouldn’t lead me astray and they sound very educated on the product…”.

    I went to a tasting, brought people to tastings, talked about it at work (now I am mortified about this…I work with some very bright people, they must have thought I had lost my mind)etc. I was told that MV contained 8-13 servings of fruits and vegetables a day, I was telling people with children that they should get their kids on it, particularly the ones that hated eating their vegetables. People believed me, they trusted me and I feel sick every time I think that they forced their children to drink this crap (every kid I knew hated the taste & texture of it), thinking that it was full of nutrients.

    Just to be clear, I didn’t go in for the money, I went in because I believed in the product and thought I was helping people live healthier lives. I discovered that the “product” didn’t do anything I was told it would do. My friends were all still having arthritic pain, high blood pressure etc. and I felt no benefits either but I was getting all of the nutritional benefits. I am a very healthy eater but I stopped taking my vitamins because I was told it wasn’t necessary. When I think back, what the hell was I doing listening to people that weren’t qualitifed to counsel me about nutrition at all?

    I was somewhat confused when all the talk switched to “it’s just juice”. I truly believe that my upline knew that the juice didn’t contain anywhere near the nutrition I was told, but they wouldn’t tell me because it would clearly effect their “downline”. That part I find reprehensible. They were potentially effecting the health/lives of adults and children and did nothing to inform people about it.

    We convinced a scientist friend of mine to try it and she did. She was having difficulty sleeping and was told this would help her. She called me a couple of months later and said she wanted to talk to me. She had read all of the studies (she knew how to interpret them) and information regarding the product on the internet and on the BACK OF THE BOTTLE and it was none of the things I had told her it was. I wasn’t aware there was all this info on the internet as when I got “in” there wasn’t much information available, or perhaps I wasn’t looking in the right places, I don’t know. I went on the ‘net and found Juice Scam, Purple Horror (now defunct) and Lazy Man. I have to admit, it to sink in as this was a soul less machine and the people I was involved with were my friends. But I just read and read and read and was pretty much convinced but I talked to a bona fide nutritionist and an accountant friend of mine just to drive it home. I had fallen for a pyramid scheme.

    I couldn’t even talk to my “friends” about it and haven’t spoken to them since. I immediately informed all of the people that I had signed up (if they hadn’t already dropped out because they couldn’t afford it or it wasn’t doing anything for them) what I had discovered. It was one of the most humiliating things I have ever had to do, hence my “name”. I just couldn’t allow them to continue believing the lies that I had been told.

    Now that I know that even their “charity” the “MORE project is a scam, I am determined to help people avoid becoming victimized as I was.

    I was very angry at my “friends” but I have forgiven them because they have been gobbled up by the cult and they are no longer thinking their own thoughts. They all got rid of their TV’s and don’t read the internet except for the MonaVie website (as instructed by Dallin Larsen & Brig Hart who run the company). I was lucky, all of my friends forgave me and didn’t make me feel stupid/naive/greedy/. It took me a lot longer to forgive myself but I think I am close.

  10. March 5, 2011 8:40 am

    Thanks for your story. It does take a long time to forgive ourselves, but hearing each others’ stories make it easier. We are not alone in what we experienced!

  11. I Quit ( and glad I did) permalink
    March 5, 2011 8:57 am

    Rykel- The facts that you are looking for are being revealed to you all over this site. When I referred to “the garbage started happening” I was specifically targeting the unethical, dishonest and very un-Christian behavior that is being revealed to the world by all of us ex-Teamers. These things did not occur until after we (my upline and myself) achieved some levels of success. As I stated. Are we angry? Yes, of course. Some of us had our LIVELIHOODS stripped away on the whim of a greedy upline. That type of income required unbelievable amounts of sweat equity so yea, I’d say some righteous anger is understandable and justified wouldn’t you agree? We are exposing behaviors of individuals that are counter to the words of said individuals.
    If you’d like a more specific example of unethical behavior experienced by myself I suggest you find the post I left a while back regarding my story about the “Big Fish”.
    If you choose to continue in this venture and get to be part of FBOCo. (effed by Orrin and company) remember that it was YOUR conscious decision.

  12. aurora permalink
    March 5, 2011 9:21 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  13. March 5, 2011 4:53 pm

    An interesting post from Mackwiz on http://www.juicescam.com/monavie-is-embarrassed-by-their-income-disclosure-statement-2/comment-page-1/#comment-42221.

    When you were prospected did any of this happen to you from the person trying to get you in team or monavie? Below is a part of Macks post.

    Note this line on the (monavie)IDS:
    “A copy of the IDS must be presented to a prospective
    distributor (someone who is not a party to a current
    MonaVie Distributor Agreement) anytime the Compensation
    Plan is presented or discussed, or any type of
    income claim or earnings representation is made.”

    So what if I ask “Why is this a 2 year old document? Where’s the current one? Would I buy stock on 2 year old data figures?”

    How about this gem:

    “MonaVie’s corporate ethics compel us to do not
    merely what is legally required, but rather, to conduct
    the absolute best business practices. To this end, we
    have developed the Income Disclosure Statement
    (“IDS”).”

    So are they themselves saying they are shady, since now new IDS has been created? What happened to the Christ-like ethics claim this company engages in?

  14. March 5, 2011 7:32 pm

    For us, we knew our upline for 20 years. My husband has been volunteering in a soup kitchen with church services for 20 years. I knew her through Hubby for 10 years. She called us up one evening to see if she can run an idea awith us. thinking is was for the soup kitchen, I handed the phone to Hubby and they set up a time for her to come over to our flat.

    She came over and talked about a business idea, and I started to ask questions and told her to cut to the chase. Each time, she said “I will get to that” and continued on with her presentation. We had no choice but to listen to everything.

    She first asked us what our dreams were. We told her, but I was wary and just said I wanted a house and to study.languages. Hubby just said boat and a house. Then she went on about how we can have all this money, get off welfare, and use extra money to bless other people. “We are blessed to be a blessing!” she said excitedly. Now, I’m a charitable person, so it appealed to me.

    Hubby and I talked about it, and we decided to give it a try after the summertime, as money’s already tight in the summertime. I relayed the message when she came back after 2 days, and Hubby wasn’t there, and she said “No, you need to get in now or you could lose your success, and the sooner you get in, the faster you’ll get off welfare.”

    After a few minutes of her slick-talking, I agreed to join – WITHOUT my husband’s consent. I should’ve stopped right then and there, everyone should respect a joint husband-and-wife decision.

  15. March 5, 2011 7:44 pm

    @ Rykel, how were YOU prospected? we would really like to know.

  16. March 5, 2011 7:47 pm

    I never got anyone in but I did apologise to everyone that I tried to get in. I think it was a good idea to inform your downline. It took a lot of courage to do that.

  17. March 6, 2011 11:08 pm

    Husband’s best friend from college sponsored us. Basically we knew the couple who sponsored us were doing Amway and we were going to do it along with them. Horrible story to state everything here again. You can read our story at our blog.

  18. whatresults permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:47 am

    my “sponsor” said all you have to do is drink the juice and you will make money….little did I know this was no where near the truth so I quickly signed now having doubts

  19. I Quit ( and glad I Did) permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:00 am

    What, still no comment from the peanut gallery? Smoked ya didn’t I?!!

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

