Skip to content

Picking Up The Pieces

March 28, 2011

Those who have had negative experiences with their MLM and/or training organizations find it takes months or even years to get over and recover. It also seems that the longer you were in, the longer it takes to get over the experience.

My take? It’s okay to spend time grieving or being angry. Write about it, talk to friends, family, and former MLM-people about it. Post on this blog, other blogs critical of MLMs and Systems, or even start your own blog.

It’s important, however, that you don’t let those past negative experiences take over your life. Yes, what happened sucked big-time, and the financial and emotional damage may still affect you today. But, you must pick yourself up and move on. If you joined an MLM/System looking for financial success, know that you aren’t a failure for quitting. The odds were stacked against you from the beginning. Know also that there are other opportunities and avenues to achieve your goals. Start by reading various free finance blogs on the Internet. Go to the library. Learn a new trade. Look at what’s happening around you, your city, or your state for opportunities. Smart small, be fiscally lean and focus on profitability. It will take hard work, but it won’t require you to buy a book of the month, a CD every week or a four cases of fruit juice every month.

And about those individuals and organizations that you feel hurt and wronged you? Rest assured that they will have their own day of reckoning in the future. The wheels of justice and karma are ever turning, and they are always moving toward resolution.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Speak Your Truth permalink
    March 28, 2011 4:10 pm

    Great article!

  2. switch permalink
    March 28, 2011 4:34 pm

    Indeed….picking up pieces as we speak.

  3. March 28, 2011 6:28 pm

    Thanks for posting Amthrax.

  4. shaun permalink
    March 28, 2011 6:32 pm

    ohh now after i write something similar to this weeks or months ago, do you write a article like this. Well at least you got it that negativity only attracts itself, and everyone who want sto succeed needs to change in someway and move on.

  5. March 28, 2011 6:50 pm

    This has been my position since I started this blog in 2008.

  6. I Quit ( and glad I Did) permalink
    March 29, 2011 5:33 am

    Hey Sean- Recovery is in process for all of us. Some of us were not only screwed financially, but emotionally. What would your reaction be when someone who you thought was a true friend literally RUINS your life, causing financial disaster due to their own GREED? Years of brutal work flushed overnite and you have no recourse. I’m sure you’d be Mr. Positive in under a week!

  7. aurora permalink
    March 29, 2011 4:48 am

    This commenter requested that her comments be removed from this site.

  8. Speak Your Truth permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:17 am

    Shawn says:”ohh now after i write something similar to this weeks or months ago, do you write a article like this”

    Seems like your being a little “negative” cynical or jealous can’t tell which. Maybe re-listening to your TOP50 or perhaps re-visiting what YOU wrote would help.
    Well Shawn you can have the credit for letting the world know everyone should be positive~We already knew that but hope that helps ya feel better!
    Have a bright and cheery day:)

  9. humiliated permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:28 am

    Great post Amthrax. I have to say, the shock of finding out the “truth” about the company and the “juice” was quite overwhelming, to say the least. The more I read and wrote, the more I felt the cathartic process “cleansing” me of the anger of being victimized in one of these MANY scams out there. I am one of the lucky ones that didn’t lose that much in the whole scheme of things, but the worst part for me was feeling ashamed for my part in it at all. These sites allowed me to start forgiving myself and understanding that intelligence and trust ARE mutually exclusive when it comes to being victimized in one of these scams.

    I am glad that I didn’t just say a couple of things and move on because the more I read, the more I learned about their methods and the various forms that MLM scams come in. There is someone at my work pursuing an MLM scam on the side and I would not have recognized it but for my in depth education here and on Lazyman’s site. They are so brainwashed I can’t say anything but they really think they can retire on what they are making and will give up VERY good jobs if they do.

    Thank you for your dedication!

  10. March 29, 2011 7:59 am

    Amthrax…Great Article! I just posted my feelings on this same topic a couple of days ago! Your right it’s an ongoing process, and sites like this can be valuable to “De-Tox” yourself. Keep up the good fight!

  11. webelieved permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:19 pm

    Punisher, I love your blog. You have a wonderful way with words. Keep them coming!

  12. webelieved permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:27 pm

    “If you joined an MLM/System looking for financial success, know that you aren’t a failure for quitting. The odds were stacked against you from the beginning. Know also that there are other opportunities and avenues to achieve your goals”. Amthrax
    I have to say I think this was one of the indoctrinations that I had to get over, because I had based my life solely around the TEAM, I believed I had to give up my dreams when I gave up the TEAM. Now I know that is not the case, but that is how indoctrinated I was.
    I now am on the road to recovery from speaking out the truth of my experiences and beliefs. I am so grateful to have found this site and all the other bloggers on here that are sharing their stories. I thank you all for your comments and support. It is so healing to know we are not alone.

  13. aurora permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:55 am

    Hey, Sahunny boy;

    I will stop talking about what amway/wwdb did to me when I damned well feel like it, savvy?

    Shame on you for spending time in the ‘bathroom wall of society.’ Get your lazy loser ass out there and prospect, you lazy losr.

  14. April 2, 2011 10:36 am

    For all of you that are stepped out of the system(s), be so fortunate your healing can start. “Blogging” about it and finding people who experienced the same experience will certainly help to deal with the feeling of abuse. Although I have not felt for this trap, believe me, it happened in another way. That’s also a plus, abuse or ripoffs will probably not happen to you a second time.

    Maybe also the following will help in your healing. A while ago I read a book of “People of the Lie” of M. Scott Peck (no, I am not affiliated with the writer, just bought the book for a few dollars on the Internet), and I remembered that it also had a chapter about group processes. I think everyone who has been in a group, like most of you have been, should read it. It clarifies a lot: where you have been, why you did what you did, and why it is hard to step away from a group like this.

  15. Speak Your Truth permalink
    April 2, 2011 1:14 pm

    Me
    Thanks for sharing that but since I have no desire to read, be positive, be productive in life, believe in any success principles, and just want to be a derelict the rest of my life, (according to the one’s that can’t accept that we are done being indoctrinated and donating all our cash to) I will have to pass on anything that would better myself.

    Just kidding, thanks for the information, I will check it out.

  16. April 2, 2011 1:30 pm

    Hi Speak your Truth,

    You seem to understand my well meant advice, and you are right to tease me like that with your reply.:) I realized after I just posted this message that I did that to a group of people who were obliged to buy, read books, and listen to tapes as well every month to grow and be better in the “business”.

    Well, my advice is not strange at all, but what those crooks turned it into, is.

  17. Speak Your Truth permalink
    April 2, 2011 2:53 pm

    Amen! and Thx again!

  18. webelieved permalink
    April 2, 2011 3:58 pm

    Me, I don’t think Speak meant that for you, one day there was someone on here that inferred since all of us weren’t with Team, we didn’t believe in bettering ourselves. For instance, reading etc. This is very funny to me considering we bettered ourselves when we stopped conning people into the lie that is TEAM. We are on the path to a better life, unlike the “leaders” that stay and continue to repeat the lies about others they have been told by their upline. I will check out your book also, thanks.

  19. webelieved permalink
    April 2, 2011 8:38 pm

    Me, you sound like you have been through something similar? Can you share with us?

  20. April 3, 2011 6:51 am

    webelieved, I do not think it will add to this public discussion to name this specific kind of ripoff. However, it was not another variant of MLM, but we lost a lot of money because we trusted the wrong people. And the main characteristics for the people who trick you into this are all the same.

    Deception has many faces, and to recognize an be prepared for it, is a blessing. My natural attitude towards people, certainly when there is money involved, changed with it. Instead of trusting other people I have started to trust myself. When I was deceived the way I was, I was not ignorant. I had all kind of doubts in my mind, but I wanted to believe those people. In a way I ignored my own alarm bells, and that is what caused the trouble.

    And it is really a process to start to trust yourself after you heave dealt with a situation like this. But everyone can learn it. I am still friendly and open to people, but I have a “list” with questions/steps as a precaution which I check upfront before doing or signing up to anything. I’ll use it with people who I see in person, or just on the telephone.

    People who have well meant intentions will understand that you are doing this to protect yourself. On the other hand people who are only out to please themselves with your money or efforts, are getting annoyed. I always have to smile when I see or hear the sudden change of attitude of the person in front of me when they starting to realize they cannot trick me into their game. And how fast they want to get rid of you; you are not making them any money!

  21. Speak Your Truth permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:15 am

    Me
    I am sure we can all relate.
    Trust Yourself, the best advice!
    Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

  22. Speak Your Truth permalink
    April 9, 2011 1:46 pm

    Me
    Just wanted you to know,if you are still reading this blog, I tried to get the book you recommended~ “People of the Lie” on my kindle. It is not available yet but I applied, to the author so I could. If I can’t get it through there I know the Library has it.
    Oh boy, I have read some excerpts and quotations from the book, and I am speachless! I have a feeling this is going to sum-up the experience and be very enlightening! I wish I could for a day or 2 come on here from a different/outside perspective to read this blog to see it from that view.
    THANK YOU~
    BTW ~ I love to read, LOL

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

