Skip to content

Hart to Hart

June 14, 2011
tags:

Received this reader email last week. He talks about his second exposure to Brig Hart after being in Hart’s Amway organization back in the late 1990s (in which he rose up to be a Pearl Direct Distributor). He was recently invited to a MonaVie tasting and was surprised to see his former upline now hawking the purple jungle juice. Here are his thoughts reflecting on his past with Amway and Hart. Suffice it to say, he’s not joining the purple bandwagon.

Enjoying your website. I got out of the scam in the late 1990’s after spending close to 8 years in Brig Hart’s Amway downline in Nebraska.

Got in through a business associate of my wife who came from over 150 miles away with his upline Direct Distributor. Fell hook line and sinker.

Believed in everything the Direct taught me and did everything the “right way”.

Rose to a direct distributor myself in relatively short time. Less then 6 months.

Meanwhile my direct was rapidly working his way to Emerald and before you could say sign up another I had 4 Emeralds in my upline from Brig Hart’s Nebraska “group”.

My own business after many miles, dollars and countless sleepless nights had hit a wall and I couldn’t advance past the Pearl level.

My downline and upline blamed our lack of advancement on my unwillingness to become a born again distributor and wouldn’t attend the Sunday morning worship sessions and that end up giving more money to whatever cause Brig was promoting for that gathering.

I’m an accountant by trade and kept very good records of everything. When I finally lifted the fog from my eyes and quit going to meetings and buying all the tools it came to $100,000.00 in business expenses after my bonus check income for all the years I was “building my business”.

I really don’t know what it was that finally made the light come on about the tool portion of the business being the really big money maker. I liked the Amway products. I liked the idea of buying stuff that I used and getting a check for doing so and convincing others to do the same.

It took me a long time to get over the guilt I felt for getting other people to buy into this scam. I don’t believe I’m totally over it yet over 15 years since getting out.

Funny, I still buy the Amway products. Where the bonus goes for those products and to what upline today I got no idea. Further more I no longer care.

I hadn’t thought about my Amway days until someone contacted me last week about a “Business Opportunity” they wanted to share with me and invited me a tasting party. I owed this guy a favor and went only as a friend to help him out to meet his quota. All other such invites these many years were always turned down.

At the tasting party as an old MLMer I could see right through the presentation, but you can imagine my surprise when the speaker started talking about Brig Hart and got on his computer and started showing Brig, “showing the plan”. I can still spin the circles with the best of them.
Nothing had changed except the product.

So I came home tonight and goggled my old friend Brig and eventually came across your website.

It still saddens me so many people fall for these scams and lose money they can’t afford. And to read responses people make attacking you for trying to shed some light on it is almost comical.

Anyway just wanted to share my story and thank you for what you do. Like I said I still have guilt about what I did to others.

From such a large organization that I had, I no longer am friends or associate with any of them. Worst of all, my old friends that I had prior to Amway that chose not to get in are also no longer my friends.

I can truly say Amway changed my life. But sadly just like 99% of the folks, not in a positive way.

Feel free to use any of this in anyway you feel fit.

You could say that Hart is a “success story” in the world of MLM. I would qualify success, however, in that he has succeeded off the failures of thousands of distributors. Hart recently stated himself that he constantly needs new distributor blood to replace those that have quit:

“I have nothing to lose or gain in telling the truth. I love this industry,” Hart said. “But our industry is all about sponsoring them faster than they quit. So you have to put them in faster than they get out.”

There you have it. It’s not about helping your fellow man (or woman) or showing them the 8 virtues of the leadership guru; it’s about building sandcastles.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:15 pm

    Dear Reader,
    Sorry bout your experience and loss of friends, you are not alone.
    Thanks for sharing your story. Funny those who suffer (us included) from the guilt and are remorseful of bringing others into a corrupted greedy scam who are controlled by mis-leaders; are the ones who know the truth and speak out about how their experiences that have been far from positive and how it has damaged people in every area of their lives, including their personal relationships as you spoke of.
    There are many bigger leaders that have witnessed and experienced behind the curtain, who are sharing their experiences of from the inside and up close and personal to the dictators.

    Those that continue to make their ill-gotten gains off of the households of others, are heartless and refuse to see and hear thousands of people who speak out and proven the contrary with their experiences. The damage is right in front of their faces, but the sound of Cha Ching is deafening and as you said those who don’t have an argument, are comical, and very predictable (duplication at its finest) repeat the same old rhetoric of name calling and never address one issue.

    It is clear every one of them duplicate their upline and read from the same play book but they forget one very important detail, you can’t con a con. We were trained and owned at least one of those same ‘play books’. They brag they create better relationships, finances, marriages, religion etc, (the 8 F’s on Team/Orrin) yet continue to ignore the true facts and hundreds if not hundreds of thousands who have told the real truth. I have never experienced a more concentrated group of people who choose to live in denial. Very sick and will eventually pay a price. They would tout the statics how marriages fail on the ‘outside’ and quote some ridiculous statistic of those marriages saved by their system. It was something like 80% stay married and 50% divorce on the ‘outside.’
    No, they just cover it up like it never happened on their stages and very hush, hush if you are in the circle where you know what they really say.

    It’s amazing that Brig would admit to the pyramid recruiting as if it is justified? How is this genuine and caring about others? Seems like a number not a human being. Would do them good, to study why people quit, especially Orrin who claims to study everything, with ‘bench marking’, numbers guy, who cares about ‘true friendships?’

    It is blatantly obvious they deny the truth and choose to stay in denial.
    It fits like a glove, the profile of a cult.

    Reader have you read Merchants of Deception (free link on Amthrax)?
    What an amazing story that fits all and very courageous of Eric the author.

  2. switch permalink
    June 15, 2011 11:07 am

    WOW! What an email!

    Good for them for coming forward like this, but I do have to agree that friendships have been lost.

    A sad deal indeed.

  3. Burned Out With MV permalink
    June 17, 2011 4:05 am

    Totally agree, great post.

    Not a hellava lot of a difference between TEAM and R3G when you cut to the chase, just Brig is more entertaining on stage and throws in more religion into the pitch, still at the end of the day they are both money pits with very little chance of making any real income

  4. webelieved permalink
    June 21, 2011 5:37 am

    Thanks for sharing, I can relate to most of what you said. I was part of Team who were in Amway and now Monavie.
    “I’m an accountant by trade and kept very good records of everything. When I finally lifted the fog from my eyes and quit going to meetings and buying all the tools it came to $100,000.00 in business expenses after my bonus check income for all the years I was “building my business”.” I can relate to that, most of the money we made went right back into the TEAM business and to our upline, we never got our time back and we had to keep spending money and time to replace people.

    “I really don’t know what it was that finally made the light come on about the tool portion of the business being the really big money maker.” Funny, we sold the business Amway to the new guy upfront, and we were in denial about the tool business being the real business.

    ” I liked the Amway products. I liked the idea of buying stuff that I used and getting a check for doing so and convincing others to do the same.” Orrin Woodward taught this too, and then turned around and sued Amway for being an illegal pyramid because they didn’t have enough customers !! If it was illegal, in Team’s case, he did not teach people to sell the products and get customers! He taught us how to sell the business! Although I did try to get customers, no one wanted to buy overpriced products.

    “It took me a long time to get over the guilt I felt for getting other people to buy into this scam. I don’t believe I’m totally over it yet over 15 years since getting out.” I also feel guilty for bringing hundreds of people into the Team lie!

    “Funny, I still buy the Amway products. Where the bonus goes for those products and to what upline today I got no idea. Further more I no longer care.” I find this interesting comment, I too have a few products I would buy from Quixtar.
    If the TOOL KINGPINS were
    1. policed by the product companies like Amway/MV
    2. forced to make legal, legitimate financial claims and only legal medical claims
    3. held accountable by the product companies and the law
    4. Forced to disclose publically that they came from another mlm, and brought their groups
    5. forced to disclose the income made on the sales of training tools and who makes it before distributors buy them,
    6. forced to open their books with hard cold facts
    then the product would stand or fall based on the merit of how good it is, word of mouth, and how fairly priced it was in the market place.
    In my opinion, the Tool Companies that act like Team are where the danger is!!!
    They can do and say anything (lie, make false financial claims, promise residual income, volume load for false recognition see article IS TEAM VOLUME LOADING) and it doesn’t matter. No consequences.
    If they would be reigned in on their false promises, false advertising of residual income, large amounts that are not true for 99% of the people. If they were forced to keep their financial promises to distributors. If they couldn’t make false medical claims.If their focus was selling the product instead of selling the business and the tools( cd’s, books, events, seminars) as the main focus, people would use or not use the product, do or not do the business based on their like or dislike of the product. Product Companies seem to look the other way and continue to allow tool companies to operate this way.
    In my experience we spent way more on Team tools and events then we did on the product itself!
    That should have been a clue. If a business needs that much training for a distributor to make a profit, there is something wrong with the training, the training company or the business!!

  5. DecidedToWiseUp permalink
    October 7, 2014 9:31 am

    I know this blog post is quite old, but I stumbled upon it after the owner of a new company I had joined was announced in September. The company launched in January 2014 and I found it a bit odd that they waited 9 months to announce Brig Hart as the owner. So I did a little digging on Mr. “Founded In Faith” business owner, Brig Hart. Upon further research, I’m now under total understanding as to why they delayed Brig’s announcement. The founders of this new company have all been with Brig in his past schemes, and knew the best way to fill Brig’s funnel would be to recruit as many people into this new company as possible, THEN announce Brig, and from there he could start peddling his “training system.” He now calls his system the “Life Support System.” It is identical to those he was peddling with Amway and Monavie. I’m so glad I did my research and figured this out before I got further involved. BEWARE FOLKS… Brig Hart is back at it!

  6. October 7, 2014 3:58 pm

    @DecidedToWiseUp – Thanks for the comment. I thought that he was retiring after resigning his MonaVie distributorship. Do you have a link to the organization’s new website?

  7. October 7, 2014 4:04 pm

    Healthy Home Company (www.healthyhomecompany.com) is the company he now owns and his training system can be found at:
    https://thelifesupportsystem.com

  8. October 7, 2014 10:04 pm

    I wonder if Brig will run into problems with the TEAM/LIFE business, seeing that his training company’s name is very similar to LIFE.

    It’s also interesting to see him hawking home and healthcare products. It’s like he’s going back to his roots at his first MLM. He also finally owns both the MLM and the training company.

    Glad that you wised up. Again, thanks for the info!

  9. DecidedToWiseUp permalink
    October 8, 2014 6:57 am

    I’m almost certain he is going to run into the very same problems. History tends to repeat itself does it not?
    I do love the products that are being sold through his company. However, I am starting to lose trust in them. They are backed with some very good certifications (ToxicFree, USDA Biobased, USDA Certified Organic, Ecocert, and top safety ratings with EWG), but for a price, anyone can be bought in my opinion. Shoot me an email address, and I will send you some very interesting stuff.

  10. noteam permalink
    October 8, 2014 1:29 pm

    Brig resigned from MonaVie so he would be able to be a part of Healthy Home. He was in on the early planning of the company with Billy Glenn (formerly a consultant to MonaVie). The original name was Mommy’s Club, but this past year changed the name to Healthy Home. I think Brig lost his zest for MonaVie when Dallin Larsen looked the other way and allowed Orrin Woodward to start his LIFE Training company at the same time all the other system leaders in MonaVie were forced to shut down their training systems. (I still believe Dallin got some personal payoff from Orrin off to the side on that deal. Personal opinion)

  11. October 8, 2014 3:21 pm

    My contact information is on my About page.

  12. Rick Owen permalink
    April 13, 2017 7:30 am

    Amway’s Code of Ethics and Rules of Conduct (since the late 70’s when I joined the first time) have spelled out the need to keep a practical balance between one’s business expenses (including travel, conferences and business tools) and one’s sales & profitability. This is a commonsense policy for any business. Unfortunately, ‘the big dream’ has been sold by distributors focusing too much on the latter where many upline distributors (like Brig Hart) control these resources and profit from them exclusively.

    I was told by my direct when I was in Brig Hart’s group that Brig made half or more of his money from tape recordings, books and tickets sold for business events. I left soon after this knowing that it was not according to the practices published by Amway Corporation. Amway believes every distributor should have the same opportunities offered by the Amway Business Plan.

    Eventually, Brig was disciplined for this and his distributorship rights were terminated. As Brig spins the story in his book, he was talking too much about Jesus and Amway didn’t like this. This was perhaps true, too, since Amway wants to keep their business opportunity open to all faiths and philosophies. It’s a business, not a religious group. Business meetings should not be used for proselytizing people for any religious or political ideology.

    Amway’s actual marketing plan is legitimate and fair. It pays those who sell the most products (both wholesale and retail) regardless of where they are positioned within the line of sponsorship. This is what attracted me to it initially, along with its clean, pro-American, environmentally-conscious image. It is not too different from, but in some ways better than, other direct sales, commission-based businesses. Currently, I use a few Amway products but am not ‘building the business’ by either recruiting customers or distributors.

    I later encountered Brig Hart with the Healthy Home Company. I thought joining this might be safer since Brig was not an upline distributor but the CEO. Unfortunately, this did not turn out to be the case. He sold Healthy Home to Evolv (another MLM) and told everyone in HH that this would be an expansion of the product line, adding Evolv’s nutritional and health products to the HH lines of toxic-free home and personal care products. “Healthy Home is evolving,” we were told. Instead, HH was scrapped and people were left with a handful of Evolv products. The rollout on this was a dishonest and disappointing bait-and-switch. Most HH people who came over to Evolv left, including the high-level upline distributors and longtime friends of Brig.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

