Skip to content

Do As I Say, Not As I Do: Learn History From LIFE… Unless It’s TEAM’s History You Want To Learn

December 31, 2011

2012 is just hours away. As we look ahead to the new year, it’s important to look back at the past for future guidance. George Guzzardo wrote in LEARN HISTORY FROM LIFE that:

If we are smart we can learn from our past, if not, we will feel the pain of repeating the past until the lesson is learned. We can learn from the economic pain we are feeling today before the pain leads to a terminal condition.

It’s time for a commitment to learn lessons from the past an apply those principles to the future. Let’s not repeat the past.

George Guzzardo wants you to learn history, unless it's his own history you want to learn.

I find this humorous, because Guzzardo (and Orrin Woodward) are notorious for hiding their own past from their followers. Take, for example, George’s strategic real estate default which I revealed back in September, 2011. Within two days of my initial post, George issued a response on his blog explaining the situation to his members.

Click on the link above, and what do you get today? A blank page.

That’s because Guzzardo deleted the post from his blog. Fortunately, there is a cached version here, here, and here, as well as a screenshot of his post to the right1.

So, why did Guzzardo delete this post? The answer is simple. George Guzzardo, Orrin Woodward, and the rest of the leaders in TEAM LIFE do not want prospects or new members to know about their past. They don’t want people to know that they used to be in Amway, Quixtar, and MonaVie. They don’t want people to know that they initiated strategic real estate defaults, that they blogged anonymously before railing against anonymous blogs, and that several TEAM leaders file for bankruptcy.

Understanding TEAM’s past completely undermines the image that TEAM is projecting to its members — that the TEAM leaders are paragons of virtue who are eminently qualified to counsel people on financial matters.

In his strategic default post, George says this:

Why do I tell you all this? Because I want you to learn from my financial mistakes, not your own.

It’s hard to let people learn from your mistakes when you try to delete it from the historical record!

TEAM wants you to learn from history, so as long as it’s not TEAM’s history.


1 The screenshot was taken today from a mirror blog to Guzzardo’s TypePad blog. TEAM is fond of setting up mirror blogs to game search engines. While George deleted the post on his TypePad blog, he neglected to delete this one. Let’s see how long this link remains active.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Collins permalink
    December 31, 2011 6:55 pm

    On this New Years Eve I would like to take a moment to wish all of my friends here a happy and prosperous new year and to tell all of you that I appreciate what you are doing here on this blog.
    It’s about time the charlatans in the MLM industry as well as the industry itself be exposed for what they are.
    Heres to all of you! Tonight I will have a drink on Orrin, Chris and any lying scumbag that makes his living by deceiving others. CHEERS!

  2. Speak Your Truth permalink
    December 31, 2011 7:36 pm

    I second that Mike….Cheers! And a Very Happy New Year to You All!!! 🙂

  3. Speak Your Truth permalink
    December 31, 2011 7:44 pm

    A special Greeting to you Amthrax for your dedication and persistance…Cheers! Another great article that shows yet more covering up and sweeping it under the rug. George must be trying to ‘re-write’ history (his story) because the real history reveals their true character!

    Thanks again for all you do Amthrax….Happy New Year and may this be the year to write the final chapter of the farce of the Team LIE..f (can be interpeted in many ways) and we can say; ‘It is finished’!

  4. Brent Hansen permalink
    December 31, 2011 8:00 pm

    Hear hear. I second that motion Michael. It is high time that the morally corrupt and villainous characters called leaders are shown in their true light. Keep fighting a good fight! Happy New Year!

  5. TruthSeeker permalink
    December 31, 2011 8:38 pm

    ‎”The truth is incontrovertible. Malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end, there it is.” Winston Churchill

  6. January 2, 2012 9:13 am

    @Rocket and all – What’s the total cost of all of those LIFE “presents”?

  7. Hershall Sweet permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:19 pm

    I’ll take a crack at the cost of the song.

    1 spot in the L.I.F.E. tree $39. 12 times = $468. (higher for go getter and power players)
    2 Seminar tickets $80. 11 times = $880. (less than minimum for the 12 Power players)
    3 subscriptions $150. 10 times = $1500. (but then yours is free)
    4 Plans a week. Total gasoline and coffee in 12 days (8plans) = $30.
    5 Top Books about $70. 8 verses = $560.
    7 CDs $35. 6 verses = $210.
    9 LIFE packs $ 225. 4 verses = $900.
    6 Leaders Leading, 8 Steps to Follow, 10 Deep Legs, 11 Go Getters, 12 Power Players
    costs open meetings $5 x 2people x 12 go getters x 2 weeks $240
    Team building events, webinars, gasoline, cell phone plans $70
    major tickets $250 x 12 power player couples
    Top 50 pack for 12 Power players $262 x 12 = $3144
    EBC $60 x 12 = $720
    Costs for some Life Packs, Books, subscriptions, tickets and registrations will be paid for by prospects which spreads more than $11722 out of a bunch of wallets. There will be 2 payments to those that qualify. Your true love might only pay $1181 plus tax and shipping.
    Expensive song!

  8. webelieved permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:58 pm

    Good job Hershall. I gotta tell ya, I had all of that on Team and it was costing our family at least $20,000+ and much more many years in expenses. Gas, Car repairs, babysitters, tool losses, eating out, oh my!
    In fact I would say many leaders are writing off multi- tens of thousands of dollars a year!

  9. webelieved permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:59 pm

    It was more than a full time job for me. Constant 6 days a week. The time losses are even more devastating to families than the financial losses.

  10. Brent H. permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:22 pm

    Webelieved, I remember driving to a meeting 175 miles away on my last tank of gas and knowing that I only could buy gas to come home if I was unable to unload some trunk inventory to someone who would pay in cash.

    Those were the days…driving a 3 year old Cadillac that already had 100 thousand miles on it, sleeping off of exits on the highway, and just praying to make it home safely and with a enough time left to sleep a couple of hours before working. I remember sleeping in the parking lot at work so I wouldn’t be late. One time I pulled off the interstate exhausted at around 12 pm wanting to sleep for 30 minutes and woke up 6 hours later, car still running and almost out of gas.

    I remember hauling in all of my receipts to the accountant who was trying to figure out my taxes, and showing an $18,000 loss for the year. He thought I was an idiot, and cautioned me to stop because pyramid schemes are never profitable.

    I remember driving from Idaho to Madison Wisconsin and back in 52 hours. Got there, did 2 or 3 meetings and left to head back. Driving across Minnesota in the middle of the night in the worst fog of my life, never able to go over 35 miles per hour.

    I remember a Go Diamond weekend that I left Idaho at 10 pm at night after working all day and had to be in San Diego California the following morning. Drove all night and made it just in the nick of time.

    I remember going to a Yager Free Enterprise in Anaheim California, and blowing my transmission out somewhere near Barstow in the middle of the night, and middle of the desert, and then forking over $2500 to have it fixed and having to fly back down to get the car.

    I remember when my personal budget was stretched so thin that I prayed someone wouldn’t bounce a tool check to me because that meant I would probably bounce one upline as well. I remember before direct fulfillment moving thousands and thousands of dollars worth of tools through your team out of your car, and not yet being qualified to earn a dime. I remember selling major function tickets galore, and not getting a single dime as well. I remember signing a 2 or 3 books of blank checks and handing them to my support team to write out and deposit at their will.

    I remember when my best friend was holding 10 seminar tickets and he innocently lost them. I remember our Diamond charging down for those 10 lost tickets and unwilling to give any grace for an honest mistake. I remember paying for those 10 tickets out of my pocket because I didn’t want to see my friend be hurt by the unforgiving scumbags.

    I remember sitting down in a team meeting and watching our upline cajole someone in my group into placing a massive order of Quixtar crap on a credit card, while they lied through their teeth and promised to help sell the items. I remember that same friend cashing in his 401 K to pay off the items he had bought on his card, which no one ever helped him sell. I remember buying as much of the junk as I could possibly afford because I felt bad for the advice my upline had given, and valued my friendship with him more than money.

    I remember flying to the Philippines in 1997 for the Amway grand launch and spending $10,000 to come to the realization that I could not in good faith push a $7 tube of toothpaste on my friends in the Philippines who only made $7 per day.

    I remember being shouted at by my Diamond in front of the leaders in my group, because I dared challenge his logic and leadership. And of course having some of those leaders side with him because after all, he was a Diamond.

    I remember showing the plan to a friend of mine who was already a millionaire, and being so hard-headed that when he told me it wouldn’t work, I laughed at him. I told him I would be back in a year in a Mercedes Benz to show him who was right. A year later I was still driving a Honda Accord only with about 40,000 more miles on it. Boy was I ever a jackass.

    I remember feeling like an idiot going into people’s homes in a blue suit, white shirt and red tie while they were wearing Tshirts, shorts qan flip flops. Man that was stupid.

    I remember sitting down with someone in my group who was all in, and trying to figure out a plan to help them save their house from getting foreclosed on. All the while listening to our upline leaders talking about how screwed up their finances were, but never admitting that it was the $700 a month for tools and gas that was causing them to lose their home.

    I remember sitting down with another friend in our group and hearing about how he was going to have to sell a home he almost had paid off just to get enough equity out of it to pay off the $50,000 he had put on cards building his “business”. I remember helping him move out when his home sold and into his new home with a brand new mortgage, and a brand new payment schedule.

    I could go on and on but I wont. The stuff we put ourselves through was utterly amazing. I feel like in a short 15 years I gave a lifetime of sacrifice with very little reward. In hindsight I believe that I had 15 years of my life stolen from me through the use of lies and deception.

    I can guarantee with total certainty that 99% of the people in any product based pyramid scheme will sacrifice the same as I and many of you have done. Unfortunately doing the work does not guarantee the results. You can earn money from these schemes but eventually the money all dries up and goes away.

    Financial failure is inevitable because the entire model is built on a false premise. The false premise being that everyone can succeed. It is not mathematically possible for everyone to succeed within the confines of an MLM compensation plan.

    Since this post is about history, I thought I would share a few more snippets of mine. There are many more stories that I remember but I will spare you all for now. My heart goes out to all those who have ever been deceived or will be deceived in the future.

    I respect each of you for your contribution to this site. Thank you Amthrax for allowing me to post my nonsense here. I told Mike the other day that if I spent years on here and was able to help one person avoid the pain and soul wrenching torment that I and many of you have experienced then it would not have been in vain.

    I believe that there are thousands of people out there looking for the real answers, and believing that they are the reason that their MLM business will not work. The bottom line is that these models are designed to work, but only for the owners of the company or for those who are hand picked and positioned.

    Lets make 2012 the best year of our lives, there is some great talent on this blog and I appreciate each one of you.

  11. webelieved permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:28 pm

    Brent that was an amazing post. I would say one of your best. We sure didn’t realize the sacrifices we would make when we signed on the dotted line. I could put myself in many of your stories. It is crazy we risked our lives for a lie! Very hard to take looking back. I thank God for keeping me safe all those nights, blizzards, fog, ice, tornadoes. I agree with you if one person can be spared from all this pain it will be worth telling our stories and the truth over and over again. I repeat mine, so when a new guy reads one post they find the truth. I am sure some of you get tired of reading the same ole story. Lol!
    Thank you for your honesty.
    I wasn’t that loyal…… Idaho to Madison and back…brother that is insane!

  12. webelieved permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:34 pm

    Brent- “I feel like in a short 15 years I gave a lifetime of sacrifice with very little reward. In hindsight I believe that I had 15 years of my life stolen from me through the use of lies and deception”
    Ditto! I couldn’t agree with you more! It really breaks my heart what you and others have lost. I understand like most never will. And they wonder why we are livid?

  13. January 5, 2012 6:07 am

    @ Brent H – One of the best posts I’ve ever read describing the sacrifice and “paying the price” to build an MLM. No doubt many people on this site feel your pain, and had the same flash back moments, and sick feeling in their stomaches, while reading your post as I did. People who are just getting started in this train wreck or who are looking at it for the first time have NO IDEA what awaits them! It’s incredible to think about what we put ourselves through to “live the dream”. Can you imagine what we could have accomplished with that same dedication in the real world?! Thank you indeed Brent for your post….your thoughts….and your reminder to me why I continue to blog. If just one person can be helped, and not have these same experiences…. what is that worth!?!

  14. Vogel permalink
    January 5, 2012 8:29 am

    Great post Brent. A real eye opener. I wish I could give you those 15 years back, but if it’s any consolation, you’re doing a great public service now; and it’s very much appreciated.

  15. Speak Your Truth permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:31 am

    Brent~

    I am not sure whether I should be mad at you for bringing up the ‘memories’ of the sacrifices, or hug you because it breaks my heart and understand your undying sacrifice, dedication, pain, and losses you have suffered. I know all on here have sacrificed and suffered because of this in some way. I had forgotten, but had flash backs and can relate to so many of your “I remember”…sacrifices.

    Thank you now, for your undying and invaluable contribution to this site! Keep up the true fight and the truth will prevail! I salute you and all the others because; you all have heart, support, and the knowledge you all display; for helping me on my journey to a better future! Thanks for sharing your heart!

  16. Finally permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:05 pm

    Great post Brent, not much more can be said. You are a man of character and have an incredible story. Keep up the good fight!!!!

  17. das permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:03 pm

    Thanks Brent for sharing part of your story. You add a lot to this blog and I appreciate you. I’m sure there are members of Team sacrificing and doing the same things you posted, and wondering when their dreams will become reality. It’s very sad that it probably will never happen and they will blame themselves just as I did.

    If Orrin had even a shred of character he would stop this abuse and come clean with the truth. Those of us who know him know his true character. His ego will not allow him to admit that he is wrong and that he is living a lie.

  18. Freedomhaha permalink
    January 14, 2012 3:11 pm

    @Brent- Thanks so much for you work. You are doing amazing things on here for people!

  19. Brent Hansen permalink
    January 14, 2012 4:22 pm

    @Freedomhaha, “Let YOUR light so shine before men, that they may see your good works,and glorify your Father which is in heaven.”

    I respect all of you for having the courage to tell the TRUTH.

  20. Freedomhaha permalink
    January 15, 2012 5:49 am

    @Brent- On this Sunday morning it is only appropriate to say “Amen” and thank God for opening our eyes. God Bless.

  21. webelieved permalink
    January 15, 2012 6:15 am

    Ditto! Unto Him be the glory!

  22. Vogel permalink
    January 15, 2012 7:13 am

    “Come now, you rich, weep and howl for the miseries that are coming upon you. Your riches have rotted and your garments are moth-eaten. Your gold and silver have corroded, and their corrosion will be evidence against you and will eat your flesh like fire. You have laid up treasure in the last days. Behold, the wages of the laborers who mowed your fields, which you kept back by fraud, are crying out against you, and the cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord of hosts. You have lived on the earth in luxury and in self-indulgence. You have fattened your hearts in a day of slaughter.”
    James 5:1-5

  23. Speak Your Truth permalink
    January 15, 2012 7:32 am

    Aaaaamen! 🙂

  24. webelieved permalink
    January 15, 2012 6:11 pm

    Vogel- Wow I just read that! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Anti-Amthrax Blog « AMTHRAX

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

