Skip to content

Reader Story: Living Again After a 6+ Year Marriage to TEAM

February 22, 2012

Six months out of a six and a half year “marriage” with TEAM, this reader reports she is happier, the family’s credit card debt has almost disappeared, and her family life has improved. This story, and the other stories posted on this site, should be considered positive, uplifting accounts of people who recognized that something was wrong in their life (i.e. their TEAM business) and went about and made corrections (i.e. get out of TEAM).

She and her husband regained their critical thinking skills, and rightly started to question what was being told to them on-stage, at meetings, and in one-to-one conversations.

We got involved with team shortly after getting married – only 4 months after we said “I do” we said “I do” to the Team. Initially, I did not want to do it, but my spouse signed the paperwork anyways and it took me a little while to get fully involved but eventually I did.

Once I was on board, we were gung-ho. We never missed a Tuesday. We never missed a seminar. We never missed the majors. We tried to qualify for any time with our upline leaders (who are actually awesome people and have also left the Team since getting their team taken away and other unethical stuff they were asked to do). We made phone calls. We went to calling parties. We cold contacted. We had even gone through our lists twice, re-contacting people after a few years of being in the business.

We were honestly trying our hardest to STP or sponsor the person (ha!) and make it work for us, but it just never seemed to work for us. I prayed nightly about it – asking God for blessings for our business. We weren’t in the business for X number of years just to drop out, like we had seen so many other people do. I KNEW this was what God had planned for us – I KNEW it….but God was just waiting for us to change, we weren’t changing enough. We had to read more books and listen to more CD’s. We obviously weren’t ready for a big Team yet. (See how messed up my thinking was!!!!)

There were times I would get so mad at my spouse for not doing the work. For not making phone calls. I would get mad when we didn’t qualify for things (like time with our PC) or any type of party. It caused so much stress and tension in our marriage. We felt like crap when we didn’t show plans. We felt like crap when a plan didn’t go well and the people didn’t get in. We felt horrible for sitting at home on any certain night and not “building the business” like we should have been. But our uplines kept encouraging us, “you can do it!” or “I’m so proud of you!” (these were different uplines from the ones mentioned earlier. Actually, these uplines were once our downlines, but when the change with MV came, they moved above us…awesome….) (side note: these uplines are actually good people, just very lost and confused and being mislead).

Our life literally revolved around the Team. Not to mention our finances. We were hurting, big time. We only had one income and that income was based on commission yet we stayed on system. We stayed on autoship. We couldn’t possibly go off system or stop attending a major…what if we were to miss something that were to flick our switch!! We went into thousands of credit card debt to stay alive with Team. If it were not for the Team, we would have had NO credit card debt. We would have been able to stay afloat, but since we thought we were doing the right thing, we stayed afloat by putting Team stuff on credit cards. Glory to God, we have almost all of that debt paid off (we’ve only been out of the business for 6 months) but it would have been better never to have that.

We officially quit the Team when we found out why our mentors (who had disappeared about 1 year prior for reasons unknown) quit. Their story is theirs to share, but they did get their Team taken away from them and have had many other injustices done to them. We researched some of the stuff and came to the conclusion that the people on Team are fake. Everything is based on fake friendships. The majority of people won’t ever talk to you again if you ever quit.

I now realize that it wasn’t God and His plans that were keeping me in the business. It was the lure of the money and the things. The time that we were supposed to have. I have come to figure out it’s all about material stuff. They claim it’s about changing lives, but really, it’s about materialistic things.

We started with Team in Quixtar (although we were told it’s not Quixtar, they just supplied us) we moved with them to MV (although, when I first found out it was juice, I was quite saddened) and we left right before the launch of life (which I’m sure the people still on our team think we were crazy! Since that’s when the money was supposed to start rolling in!) But one of the things I noticed I did alot during my tenure with the team was when I thought something was strange or not right, I totally blew it off. Like, Pastor Dickie disappearing. I remember talking about that with a girl who is still on the team and we couldn’t figure out why he just disappeared. But we didn’t question it. I remember at seminars, the speakers would be like “wow! look at how much you’ve grown!!!” and I’d look around, and think to myself, no we haven’t – it’s still the same or less, but I didn’t question it. When there were Gold’s on our team who went power player every month (seriously, they went PP for like 2 years straight, supposedly), but yet, never moved on, did I question it?? Nope. Nada. I believed we were following people who cared and would never lie, so I never bothered to think twice about that stuff.

Now that we have quit after 6 1/2 years, our marriage is strong – we don’t fight constantly and we actually have time and money to do stuff together. We have time to spend with our kids. We don’t feel guilty for staying at home and we are truly happy in life. We put on focus on God and what He wants for our lives, not what I wanted God to plan for my life. My advice is, if you are checking out the Team, please just say NO!! It’s not worth the money or time. It’s not worth the fighting you will encounter with a spouse or other family members. Enjoy life NOW. Don’t live for the future. Don’t live for the Team because ultimately, the Team will take over your life and everything will revolve around it, whether you plan to make it that way or not. Live for God.

I celebrate this reader and every other ex-TEAM member who has shared his or her story on this blog. Out of a negative situation, they brought about positive change in their lives. By posting their stories, they will help others realize that the TEAM LIFE (formerly MonaVie, Quixtar and Amway) business opportunity is not necessarily what it is hyped up to be.

Read More Ex-TEAM and Reader Stories »

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Over and Out permalink
    February 22, 2012 6:47 am

    I could have written a very similar story! Thank you for sharing!! Ours was not nearly as long (2 years)but a lot of the same experiences from then till now. I also would get mad at my husband for not making phone calls or going go getter. We didn’t fight much about it or argue but he felt a lot of pressure which I didn’t really care about because I wanted to win! A weight was lifted so high from us when we quit (also right before the launch of LIFE) there was no more pressure. We were almost free from credit card debt until the TEAM, and we are getting closer and closer again to get rid of that debt from all the tools we had purchased. Congrats to you for freeing yourself from that debt! I remember spending over a thousand dollars at majors without questioning it because we were going to get free. But at the same time wanting to take a family vacation but we couldn’t afford it! Our minds were so wrong now looking back on it. We are so relieved that part of our life is over as I am sure you are too. Thanks again for sharing.

  2. Speak Your Truth permalink
    February 22, 2012 7:15 am

    Great Story! How sad and common the issues that is associated to participating in Team Lief; the materialism (greed), living constantly for the future, no time for family and children, fighting with spouse to ‘do more’, creating debt and racking up Credit Cards just to keep spending on the ‘system’ of CD’s, books, seminars, webinars, etc. and then most of the issues get resolved overnight; after you leave!

    Great Advice! Anyone who comes here and reads all the stories and facts, should question everything; that most won’t or don’t. Like why; so many people, their own uplines and Pastor Dickie just disappear? Without any mention from anyone after years of being on the Team, they are never spoken of again and treated as if they never existed?

    Why, Why, Why… to everything and especially when you know something is wrong! It pays to question everything and that could save anyone so much money and time, that you will never get back! Learn from others who have been there!

    Thanks for sharing and I am glad you and your family are now, truly Free! People ought to read this and heed to the warnings; it could save them 6 1/2 years of time, and money, effort, (or more) and a whole lot of heartache!

  3. webelieved permalink
    February 22, 2012 7:22 am

    Thank you for sharing your story. Sadly, I would guess it is very close to what many thousands of people have experienced while churned through Team. I can so relate to so many thoughts and feelings you expressed. This one hit me the hardest…

    ” Enjoy life NOW. Don’t live for the future. Don’t live for the Team because ultimately, the Team will take over your life and everything will revolve around it…”

    I don’t think there are any truer words spoken here. I existed years living for the future and not being present in the NOW, while on Team. Later to realize all those friendships were fake manipulations and what we were told for years were lies and I based my actions on those lies!

    I realize the time lost we can never regain but I have learned some painful, invaluable lessons. Moving forward I will never allow anything or anyone to get between my loved ones and myself again. I will never follow anyone blindly again as trust is earned over time and not freely given. I will see red flags when someone is trying to hide critical information on a subject. A credible group doesn’t need to hide information or control who you can and cannot talk to. A credible group doesn’t use reporting in tactics or invade or control every area of your life. A credible group doesn’t blame everything bad on the person and all the credit for good things goes to the group or the upline. A credible group listens to and values the opinions of it’s members, despite whatever level they are at. A credible group doesn’t require you to ask permission from an upline on how to live your life, or to report in to your upline on fellow members. A credible group doesn’t control the environment and actions of it’s members to creat a fake, happy, happy facade for prospects. A credible group lives in reality allowing feelings and thoughts to be expressed and validated, even if they are negative. A credible group is honest, open, fair and doesn’t have a need to hide things or use deception or half lies.

    I learned to listen again to that still small voice inside me. (the one Team taught me not to listen to). I am so thankful to be free again to live an authentic life! It is disturbing to me the destruction this so called “business” (in my opinion cult) does to people, that is the reason I am here.
    Thank you for your honesty and sincerity, I hope you keep sharing. 🙂

  4. Speak Your Truth permalink
    February 22, 2012 7:48 am

    Webelieved~ Excellent Post!

  5. switch permalink
    February 22, 2012 11:53 am

    Stories like this give me chills.

    Let me guess, LIEfers…. this HAS to be made up or some kind of fib or lie?

  6. February 22, 2012 12:19 pm

    Such a sad story but with a happy ending. Thanks for sharing, it’s most likely a good inspiration for many readers. I myself could identify with the sense of “it doesn’t seem right” like red flags, but I also didn’t question things until after I quit. I can also relate that I been “in the business” for so long that I didn’t quit even though I haven’t gotten one single downline. I’m sure many of us didn’t want to quit….or were coerced into the way of thinking that we didn’t want to quit and that out next break was just around the corner.

  7. February 22, 2012 12:22 pm

    Oh, and I second Webelieved’s post – enjoy life now. My personal motto is “Live life to the fullest; you live only once.” Life is too short to waste on TEAM.

  8. Finally permalink
    February 22, 2012 6:42 pm

    Great post and great comments………These stories don’t seem to jive with what the PC put’s out on their blogs does it?

  9. Freedomhaha permalink
    February 22, 2012 8:20 pm

    “Life is too short to waste on TEAM” — That sums up thousands of comments and articles on the site. Well done.

  10. Prospect permalink
    February 23, 2012 6:24 am

    Thank you for this story of your involement with TEAM. We are current prospect to join this organization, but something just didn’t feel right and especially after listening to the “Maximize Your Finances” cd’s which are nothing more than stories and common sense.
    I then started a web investigatin of Orrin and Team and found this site and many others. After learning about the Amway connection and reading a lot of information we will NOT be proceeeding with TEAM. Thank You again for verifying my concerns and helping to make up our minds

  11. February 23, 2012 2:31 pm

    Welcome to Amthrax, Prospect, glad you did your homework and made a good, informed decision. One thing that should’ve raised red flags to me was when my upline told me don’t do research outside of TEAM. But she only told me that AFTER I joined.

  12. February 24, 2012 6:55 am

    Thanks for sharing a great and sad story at same time. The sad part is that the very instant, position and/or element of the your loss i.e. basically spending faithfully on tools without mlm success in return because oh…you haven’t changed enough, that very loss you encountered is what ends up in the pockets of few at the pyramid top, to which MLMers call success. Now multiply your position, that is where you were times a few thousand souls at that level as is the norm in MLM, and you see the magnitude of financial rape in progress being perpetrated on MLM masses by the charlatans at the pyramid top. In pretend MLM industry it has to take your loss and that of many others to support this pernicious industry’s version of “success” for one person, no charlatan. This is clearly immoral and sadly most mlmbots don’t see this for their sight has been blinded by greed, what with all that materialism being flossed by kingpins for their consumption. Consequently IMO your God would not have wanted you to attain this MLM success version because you could today be perpetrating the same financial atrocities on the people in your downline. No wonder one pastor whose church was destroyed by his MLM involvement said to me “Christians should not do mlm!” Sad that it had to take so long and $$ losses as well before your eyes could see this atrocity but nevertheless, it finally happened. There are other better things in store for you. So praise God you didn’t mlm-succeed is in good order, right?

  13. February 24, 2012 7:02 am

    @PROSPECT
    Good decision! In fact don’t ever touch anything MLM. ScAmway, Team, No Team, whatever, no matter just don’t. It’s called the MLM industry. It’s a pernicious pretend industry. It thrives on the masses making losses so that one person at the top can be raised up to the rest as being successful. Less than 1% of all people who make the mistake of getting involved don’t make money. The pretend “industry” is designed that way and that is immoral. Why would I want to pocket cash that is derived from the losses of those below me? Again immoral.

  14. Speak Your Truth permalink
    February 24, 2012 8:47 am

    ExAmbot~

    Thanks for your comments…and Amen!

  15. Freedomhaha permalink
    February 24, 2012 4:19 pm

    Another life saved Prospect! If you are reading this for the first time please understand its not a understatement either!

  16. Inside out networking permalink
    February 28, 2012 10:15 am

    Folks, there is another way. Don’t be misled. Use the power of networking to aid the disadvantaged. Remove the greed. Stabilize you life and give the rest away. This is the way of the future. Forget the future as pertains to your WEALTH. Enter the Power of Now and let networking work for good. I am so sick of people throwing dirt on a perfectly viable vehicle. Take the human ego out of the picture and you have something that could end world hunger. I know this entry will not be posted, because you are tunnel minded in your pursuit to dethrone what you once knew was good and true. Make it good and true and it can be.

    [Editor’s note: I’ll post your comment, but be a little more clear in the future. And, for the record, we are networking — here on this site — to aid those disadvantaged that are still in the clutches of bad MLM businesses.]

  17. Former Round Table permalink
    February 28, 2012 11:00 am

    Enter the Power of Now???? Two words: Puh leeze.

  18. February 28, 2012 11:03 am

    Inside Out – are you with TEAM? Tell us the truth. I myself am dabbling with online marketing but it’s only just free social stuff. Doesn’t gimme an income, just a little extra for christmas gift shopping that’s about it. But going MLM??? Sorry, mate you’re talking to the wrong group of people.

  19. Speak Your Truth permalink
    February 28, 2012 12:40 pm

    Inside out Networking~

    You say: “Forget the future as pertains to your WEALTH.” And “Remove the Greed?” Wow..Good one.

    Way to go…that is Genius! Whatever ‘your’ wealth you thought you would get goes directly to the TOP who do become wealthy on ‘your’ (everyone else’s’) money, team and efforts.
    Thanks for clearing that one up! Forget about ‘your’ wealth… Because in most MLM’s; for the 99% there will be NO WEALTH achieved financially…it is a guarantee… Cleverly Built right in most of those greedy little comp plans. Perhaps you need to consider this in your ‘viable vehicle’ pep talk?

    So I agree with you, just not quite the way you would expect, think of it as sort of a palindrome; your ‘advice’ can be read both ways. As with all ‘principles’ believe it or not they do not change and are not exempt and only work for the MLM ‘networkers. Nor do they change when used to deceive others with. Methods are many, Principles are few, and Methods change….but Principles never do! They apply to everyone and everything.
    You see this could be some good advice if you; DON’T let the ‘networking’ TOP MLMer’s deceive you and buy into the greed, and “Don’t be Mislead” by them and ignore the rest of the hype they say because they tell you…

    If you follow the Lief ‘best business bar none’ (whatever ‘multi-level networking’ name they have came up with for their ‘networking’ program of the year and to hide the critical thinking and truth) and network for their ‘business opportunity.. ‘proven system’ to a tee and do what the Top did; then the TOP who have became ‘wealthy’ multi-millionaires off the bottom little ‘networking’ guys to provide the lifestyles the Top entice and flaunt to all the bottom ‘networkers’ with; then YOU TOO can have what they have! One other problem you could ‘network’ to the cows come home and then still have it all stolen; see the Lief P&P.

    And if that is the ‘way of the future’ (in your opinion)…. then look out future world!
    So for me I agree 100% with Amthrax and will keep my efforts for those who we know are ‘disadvantaged’; who fall for the deception and are ‘mislead’ by the ‘MLM networkers.’ I also agree with velizabethwhite you have found yourself talking with the wrong group of people. But I am sure there are probably hundreds of blogs you could go network with and give your pep talk to.  Have you ever heard the statement; You can’t convince someone against their will?

    BTW~ “Networking” has been around since the beginning of time, since their has been people on earth (churches, etc)… before they even abused the word “networking!” And IMO the ‘MLM networking’; just abuses it to the max to fulfill the need for greed; for the very few at the TOP to become ‘wealthy.’

  20. Brent Hansen permalink
    February 28, 2012 2:14 pm

    Inside out networking, I have to say, I agree with your premise.

    Do you have any prime examples of companies or plans that employ the right mechanics to guarantee your desired outcome? Your idea of removing greed, stabilizing your life, and then giving the rest away is something that many speak of, but few approach. I agree that if done CORRECTLY that there could be no better model to help people on a big scale.

    Please go on, I would actually be interested in hearing you out.

  21. Brent Hansen permalink
    February 28, 2012 2:17 pm

    @Inside out networking, as a matter of fact, so we do not stray from the original content of this post, please email me your ideas, I would like to pursue this discussion further in private.

    I will warn you though I am open-minded but highly critical. thanks

  22. Brent Hansen permalink
    February 28, 2012 2:18 pm

    hansen.brent@rocketmail.com

  23. February 28, 2012 2:58 pm

    Yes, let’s stay on topic for the rest of this post.

  24. January 24, 2013 7:48 pm

    Reading your story, I couldn’t help but feel sadness because it’s almost a complete duplication of our story. The money that people must be continuing to spend that they don’t have just makes me sick. It’s wrong…..plain and simple-WRONG!!

    I am so sad to have been so mislead for so long. My only hope is that people realize it before going into too much debt. Businesses that take this kind of advantage of people by manipulation and misleading need to be shut down.

    We need to educate people about these kinds of poor business practices. Unfortunately people are too embarrassed to come forward and admit they were duped!! Trust me, it’s not easy. Right is right and wrong is wrong. Top leaders know what is going on and continue to build it and bring innocent people into it.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

