Skip to content

Humor: The “Legendary” Tom Vu

March 1, 2012
tags:

I wonder if some people have been mirroring their presentations after the infomercial legend, Tom Vu. Anyone recall watching his infomercials back in the late 80’s and early 90’s?

Let’s count up some similarities seen in Vu’s videos with someone more contemporary:

  • Florida. Check.
  • Mansion. Check.
  • Fast Car. Check.
  • Boat. Check.
  • Dreams of making big money. Check.
  • Testimonials from happy customers. Check.
  • Calling people losers who disagree with him. Check.
  • Red tie. Check.
  • Bikini-clad women… well, they are fit.

Do any of these Vu quotes sound familiar?

  • “Come to my seminar!”
  • “Don’t listen to your friends. They’re losers!”
  • “If you’re not willing to spend three free hours to learn from a self-made millionaire to maximize your opportunity, you deserve to be broke!”
  • “At first I got lots of discouragement from friends and strangers who are losers… I had to keep telling these people every time, ‘You are losers! Get out of my way!'”
  • “A lot of people will tell you, ‘Don’t come to the seminar. It’s a get-rich-quick plan.’ Well, tell them it is a get-rich-quick plan because life is too short to get rich slow.”

Today, Tom Vu is a professional poker player living in Las Vegas, Nevada. Watch more archival clips from Tom Vu’s informercials on YouTube.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mesha permalink
    March 1, 2012 5:54 pm

    Sounds familiar… ” We are gonna do what most won’t do so we can have what most don’t have”. Blah blah blah.

    Reminds me of a House Plan…

    Thanks for finding this Amthrax!

  2. freedomhaha permalink
    March 1, 2012 5:57 pm

    It is really scary how this business makes you look at other people! I am too young to remember this gentleman, but I don’t see any difference between him and Orrin. People seriously want Orrin to run for President that makes me laugh!

  3. Mesha permalink
    March 1, 2012 5:59 pm

    I don’t know too much about this Vu guy , but I think Orrin’s probably worse. If he ever ran for President( highly doubtful) I’d move to Canada in a heartbeat.

  4. CGC permalink
    March 4, 2012 9:49 am

    At least Vu approached it with a sense of humor.

    “Do you think these girls like me? NO, they like my money!”

    There must be many variations of that quote that apply to Orrin and his philosophy. “Do you think I give a shit about you and your success? NO! I want your money!”

  5. Vogel permalink
    March 5, 2012 8:07 am

    Tom Vu…classic…I’m feeling nostalgic now.

  6. freedomhaha permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:16 am

    I know a lot of TEAM members feel that what they are doing is unique and special. I for one thought that what the TEAM was trying to do was the only model of its kind of there. I knew that MLM’s existed, but during the entire pitch I was told that TEAM/LIEf/MonaVie was different. Had I know that TEAM had any history with Amway I would have been out of there in a heartbeat! Maybe that was just me being naive, but I know others think the same way. If you are reading this realize that the same song and dance is out there, and often times they are doing it better than TEAM/LIEf.

  7. Gordon Freeman permalink
    May 3, 2012 8:56 pm

    The extent to which these hucksters buy into and promote the loaded alternative is staggering: either Plug Into The System (TEAMwayVieLIFEXtar is the PITS?), or be a loser with no future. How can anyone see the world like that?

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

