Skip to content

Information Control on Dissenting Opinions

June 5, 2012

Check out this recent comment:

Finally I find a way past all of the slick search engine traps to a blog actually talking about the TEAM for what it is! I have a LOT of family currently involved in the team, and I am having serious trouble watching them slip deeper and deeper and watching them spend their money on what is so clearly a scam. They all think that I am just trying to call them stupid because I’m the only one who has gone to college, but I’m really concerned that they are blowing serious money on this thing. I cannot find a way to reach them on this issue, because every time I try they accuse me of just not understanding how TEAM works and how its just been so great for their lives. I am watching their lives, and it looks awful.

Many TEAM/LIFE/MFC blogs are clones of one another. What’s the common denominator aside from copy-and-paste posts? There are few, if any, dissenting opinions in the comments sections of these blogs. Visit any TEAM/LIFE/MFC blog, and you’re transported instantly to a world in which everything (inside of TEAM/LIFE/MFC) is great and smelling like roses. Is that an accurate statement of what it’s like to really be a member of TEAM/LIFE/MFC?

Some of the people here on this site have in fact posted dissenting opinions and comments on several of these blogs, but their comments never got posted. Why is that? I can understand moderation if the comment is inflammatory, but what’s the problem with having a different opinion? Doesn’t discussing “ideas of consequence,” as Orrin Woodward puts it, involve active debate? If all you get is one side of the story, that’s hardly discussion and more like sermonizing.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 11:21 am

    There is no room for difference of opinion in TEAM/LIFE. In fact, the commenter’s family will probably get kicked out of TEAM if the PC finds out Adam has been reading this blog….. isn’t any subversive, illegal, or immoral activity by a friend or family member grounds for having your team taken away?

  2. webelieved permalink
    June 5, 2012 7:33 pm

    Someone should do a test and see how many disenting comments are not posted on Orrin’s site or any other followers site. I know Blomdahl isn’t posting all of the comments to his criticism post, especially the ones sticking up for the Peters.
    What a joke they are. People are not stupid!
    I am glad he found this site……hopefully we can help his family.. Unfortunatly his story is probably the same as the majority of families. In my opinion, I am sure there are thousands out there wondering what happened to their loved ones who are now trapped in this cult.

  3. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 6, 2012 7:03 am

    Amthrax~

    It is undeniable they don’t allow dissenting comments, people have tried! ONE of orrin’s many blogs says something to the effect of that he doesn’t allow it and mentions “Amway Drones” hmm….wonder why Dan Hawkins uses that term….because SIMON said!

  4. CeeEss permalink
    June 6, 2012 5:27 pm

    That clause in the TEAM contract about members possibly getting kicked out if their family members do subversive things (I’m not interested in either illegal or immoral, obviously)….Is there any evidence that people have *actually* been kicked out of TEAM for such a thing? If so, *how* subversive would it have to be? I’m thinking that maybe doing something outrageous is the only way I can help my dad get out of this mess. Thoughts?

  5. June 7, 2012 9:05 am

    Nothing surprising that’s how cults roll. Actually information control is a classic cult red flag.

  6. Brent Hansen permalink
    June 7, 2012 2:09 pm

    CeeEss, interesting thought. Although I am sure your father would thank you later on, please weigh the consequences that may occur if you damage your relationship. People don’t like to be told their church isn’t true if you know what I mean.

  7. Not signed up yet permalink
    June 8, 2012 12:31 pm

    And they say its not a cult. It is…by controlling your time money and life..I was told team would never tell you what to do…in the next sentence I was told had to be there for Tuesday night, I had to be there for Saturday, I had to do what ever it takes to get to a major….I had to get on system and go power player…that sounds alot like telling me what to do.

  8. webelieved permalink
    June 8, 2012 3:48 pm

    Not signed up yet- They do tell you what you need to do to be successful. But they also use rewards and punishments to conform followers behaviors. Blind followers get special attention and treatment for their loyalty and don’t go against their orders or ELSE. Behavior is modeled by upline and rewarded by upline. Ego stroking in front of the group, stage hosting, hosting a PC, speaking at meetings, time with Orrin or a PC, extra teams/system counts. If you don’t do what they want, even if it is unethical, you will be punished, slandered by your upline, reported in on your downline/upline etc. Nothing is priviate. On top of that they pretend to care about you and dig into every prospects personal lives. They will be asked personal questions about their lives, their dreams etc. Then it can be turned on them if need be.

    It really is sick! Conform or else.

    A
    ** All my comments are opinions based on years of time spent building Team now called life.

  9. webelieved permalink
    June 8, 2012 3:51 pm

    Cee Ess- I would recommend you read Combatting Cult Mind Control by Steve Hassan. It will help you help your dad. I would read that first to know what you are dealing with. I also would reccomend you don’t mention you are reading that to anyone until you are done.

  10. webelieved permalink
    June 8, 2012 3:54 pm

    Cee Ess- Unless your dad is a big leader on team I don’t think they would risk it and take his money away. I would not recommend you do that.
    I have been studying cults and would recommend the book above. PLEASE read it. You can also do intervention with a proffesional cult counselor. In my opinion Team/LIFE is a cult. Your dad is under thought reform believing what he is being told in team propaganda, cds, seminars, team friends etc.

  11. CeeEss permalink
    June 10, 2012 5:52 am

    Our relationship is already damaged because of this; I don’t tell him anything personal about my life anymore because for years he’s aggressively tried to use all of it to get me into “the business”.

    I can’t intervene with him in person, really, as we don’t live in the same city anymore and likely never will again. In fact, I can only bring myself to go see him about every 2 years or so now, and the whole visit is always him just hammering away at me in some new way to try to break down my resistance.

    Doing something outrageous is probably not a good idea, you’re all right. But I also don’t think anymore that anything will help. I looked at that book and I didn’t see how it was useful given how far away I am from him now.

  12. Speak Your Truth permalink
    June 10, 2012 9:40 am

    CeeEss~

    I am so very sorry to hear about your damaged relationship with your dad; that is just sad. They destroy and destruct the most important relationships in one’s life, among all other areas. I can sense this has hurt you deeply.

    Don’t lose hope, eventually, either others get tired of being drained financially, emotionally, mentally, and physically and figure out they do not practice biblical principle (wake-up) and either leave or will be forced to leave.

    I pray your dad will SEE and wake up to the harmful effects (results) this is causing in his precious relationship with you and his life.

    They ‘claim’ they get and have RESULTS in producing better relationships, marriages, leaders, follow Godly principles and the mounds of evidence along with testimonies, clearly reveal the contrary. They cause destruction, division, and damage others live and it is an outrage!

    They are worse than the scum of the earth, IMO. They will blame your dad that he didn’t ‘change’, didn’t read enough, listen enough, and that is why he didn’t get results. Your dad will really need you when he ‘wakes-up’ because he will be a broken and discarded man; when it is all said and done.

    They send thousands of double messages to confuse and get people to blame themselves. But in reality we know people follow exactly the examples and what they are told…and the damaging RESULTS show up in too many to count lives!

    Where do they take responsibility? That IS what REAL leaders do.. (for the mounds of testimonies of damaged relationships?)… For their thought reform and training people to act and behave exactly as your dad is…that they ‘train and follow by example’?! They ‘train’ others to look at EVERYONE as first a “prospect” that they can ‘use’ and then an enemy when they didn’t get what they wanted from them!

    Their ‘dupe’lication’ is in their zombie like rhetoric/thought reform and clearly evident in every person who falls for, follows, and defends it. You can’t claim you are a guru, have results, followers who follow your “world class training” system and culture to better all areas of one’s life and then blame those very ‘trained followers’ who followed their example and ‘training!’ That is evil. They promise many things but never deliver!

    They are malicious with their tactics against their ‘enemies’ and everyone is a potential future enemy one as soon as they leave the cult environment!
    I wish you the best with your dad and pray for your strength, wisdom and healing. Thanks for sharing, it cannot be easy, and know we feel and see your pain.

  13. Freedomhaha permalink
    June 10, 2012 9:57 am

    Thanks for having the guts to come on here and share your story CeeEss. I feel horrible for your loss. When I read stories like this I know that my time spent on this blog is worthwhile many times over. Besides helping heal myself from the scars of this cult if I can save just one other person from its grasp it is worthwhile. God bless.

  14. June 13, 2012 12:41 pm

    @CeeEss

    As Brent mentioned, weigh the possible consequences of doing something as you’ve mentioned.

    I share your situation in that I too have parents deeply involved in this thing and have actually become extremely angry with me for posting/sharing my story on this blog. I decided to share my story in an attempt to add my voice to the community of people who have either been negatively impacted financially or in my case, have had strain put on my relationship with my family.

    I must emphasize; I shared my own story of my personal experiences with TEAM/LIEF. What could possibly be so horrible about one lowly, not-even-ever-had-any-recognition-in-this-pyramid-scheme person such as myself, posting my own experience on this blog that could warrant a phone call from a supposed Diamond? What are these guys who are making the big bucks at this doing trolling blogs like this one?

    Literally, the evening I posted my story I got a phone call from both of my parents lamenting what I had done because Claude saw what was written about him and called my parents to essentially make them make me delete my story on this blog. My parents communicated to me that Claude hinted at litigation against me for libel…I’m not exaggerating…as if a court would even entertain a lawsuit like that (no, of course not…free speech anyone?)…that is the extent to which these people will misinform, lie, bully, talk endlessly from one topic to the next and verbally jab, jab, jab at people into submission. Others on this blog who talk of this organization employing cult tactics are not exaggerating.

    Claude, Orrin, all of them…their businesses absolutely rely on information control. They CANNOT handle it when the truth and facts about the pyramid scheme they are proliferating are revealed. These guys know knowledge is power. So do all of the posters and administrator of this blog…

    Your family member is experiencing cognitive dissonance…when you hold two opposing ideas in your mind at the same time…which is exactly what keeps people from being able to critically examine and reason the evidence that is right in front of their faces that this business model, this pyramid scheme is impossible to make money in unless you are at the very top of the scheme.

    The cognitive dissonance that Orrin, Claude, Chris…all of them…have so skillfully implanted in many minds is this: 1) Any old joe smoe off the street can make money doing Amway/Quixtar/MonaVie/TEAM/LIFE/MFC….and then in the same speech from stage or on a CD they’ll say… 2) If this business is not working for you, then there is something wrong with you and you need to improve yourself in some way …once these two competing and opposing ideas are firmly implanted in one’s mind then you hear this… “with our books/cds/products you can improve yourself and make money at the same time!”…currently….they are referring to this ‘solution’ (i.e. buying their products that they own licenses to that they make the most money off of)…as resolve.

    Clever, aren’t they…except the majority of people on this blog have figured this game out and the Teammunist purists…like your Dad and both of my parents…can’t stand that their gig is up…

    Good luck CeeEss.

  15. Freedomhaha permalink
    June 13, 2012 5:12 pm

    NJ- Thanks for sharing. I hope that your parents leave LIEf as soon as possible.

  16. Vogel permalink
    June 13, 2012 5:18 pm

    Great post NJ. Thanks for sharing. I find the litigiousness of the people involved in this scam to be one of the most repelling elements. We’ve seen quite a few of those threats in the past and they always amount to the same thing — nothing (except a few belly laughs).

    At this point, going to court should be their worst nightmare. If push ever came to shove, there are quite a few people here who could absolutely crucify Woodturd and crew in court. They know it too; that’s why their threats are all bark and no bite.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

