Skip to content

One Year Later: College or Business?

August 29, 2012

One year ago, Orrin wrote about giving a choice to his oldest son, Jordan regarding his future (bold emphasis mine):

My son (Jordan) turned 18 last week. He was given the free choice to either choose the business path, building his own business and setting himself financially free or the employee path through attending university. I explained to him that if he chose the 5% path, then he can self-educate himself as many leaders on the TEAM have. However, if he chose the 95% path, then he needs copious amounts of educational training through respected universities in order to advance through Corporate America. In fact, I told him that we would give him one year to display either his hunger to build a business or its off to 95% university training. Life passes by those who are not committed, and, in my opinion, too few people make and keep commitments. My son has chosen the path of entrepreneurship. Now let the dreams, struggle, and work begin to achieve his victory. Jordan asked me what it would take to succeed, and I told him he needed to find a job or conventional business to invest in books, CD’s, attending seminars, and showing the plan to earn his freedom. Sound familiar? I hope so. No one gets a special deal on the TEAM, no one, not even the founders son. In a nutshell, I told him he had to master systems! It never changes. I love systems.

Jordan is 19 years old now. Has he been successful building the business or is he going off to college?

41 Comments leave one →
  1. webelieved permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:29 am

    I would hate to have Orrin for a dad. Can you imagine, either you have to be brainwashed in my deceptive system or have a crappy job for the rest of your life. What a choice.

  2. webelieved permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:32 am

    I found it interesting this article had come out after people here explained how not one Policy Counsel’s kid was building their business. Orrin is sick in my opinion. Jordan I hope you go to college to open yourself up to the world and free thinking.

  3. August 29, 2012 6:40 am

    hmmphf the kid is indoctrinated that’s what….either that or Woodward’s really setting him up but lying through his rotten teeth to the public.

  4. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:45 am

    Well, what the heck IS Jordan doing? Gotta love this one: I guess he’s done wrestling and having his father “wax poetic” about his sport in relationship to LIFE? Egad, I’m astounded more each day.

    http://www.orrinwoodwardteam.com/blog.html?blogID=12

  5. August 29, 2012 6:51 am

    Eek! How can Orrin live with himself, laying that kind of guilt trip on his own child? Of COURSE when you say it that way, he would choose “the business” over college. What a joke. And as if with all his millions and millions of dollars, Orrin couldn’t buy his kid’s way into the prestigious college of his choice.

  6. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:14 am

    @velizabeth: this hyperlink’s for you, kiddo! LOL! (sorry, it’s off topic from Jordan W., but this is the last posting place you were at)

  7. Cali permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:16 am

    Such a good point Katie; Sitting on millions and he gives his son a “choice.” Will he really use his son’s earned income from a crappy job to make himself richer from all the tools he buys from his dad? As if he walks around the house looking at all the books and cd’s lying around and says “nope, you can’t touch these, you haven’t earned the right to this knowledge unless you pay for it.” Give me a break. My university education never sought to help me make it in the corporate world, it taught me to think. Is that what he doesn’t want for his son? It seems like if anyone could bring him down it would be the ones closest to him.

    I know so many young people struggling for the chance to go to college, to learn. I hope Jordan does go to college because it’s a great experience.

  8. August 29, 2012 7:22 am

    All I can say is OY VEY! Ya $20 million in 20 years. Now they’re all but dissing Monavie!

    Even in this video Woodward contradicts what Lady Woodward said earlier – that she hated her husband before they were in The Business – so ya, Woodward, I’m sure your wifey did so a LOT of complaining LOL!

  9. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:26 am

    @Cali: can you see it? Woodward and wife scrambling around the house to put all spare brochures, CDs, books, etc., into their Port St. Lucie mansion house vault, yelling at Jordan: pay for your own!!! LOL!!

    Hey, this is what MY kid did to me, too, when I offered to at least read something he had that he’d already purchased 😦

    @velizabeth: I didn’t realize it was gonna put the video right on Amthrax!!! LOL! maybe we oughta go over on that thread that Amthrax started for me and go nuts on Mona Vie….I hate to get blasted again being off-point on a topic 🙂 :)))))))

  10. Cali permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:47 am

    That video is BS. They aren’t climbing, they are scamming. So when the “quitters” get emotional it’s because they don’t like being treated like they are stupid and have their money sucked out of them for info they could get for free at the library, which comes also with a University educations.

    Also, it is cheesy. Cheesy cheesy cheesy. And their kids have to listen to this same rhetoric over and over and over. Monavie, 20 million in 20 years – aren’t they done with it now?

  11. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 8:15 am

    Oiy! I didn’t mean to start a Mon Avie brouhaha on this thread about Jordan—I corrected myself and put it over on the undue influence thread 🙂

  12. Cali permalink
    August 29, 2012 8:49 am

    but I think it does apply… This is the same “talk” I have heard from stage over and over and I can only imagine growing up in the same house as this.

    @wisdom, I don’t think you need apologize for what you post. There are many things I don’t like about others’ posts and they probably feel the same about mine. So what? Monavie sucks, why not tell it like it is? Making your kid “choose” his education or his dad’s business, and if he fails in one he has no other choice also sucks. All these things are intertwined and I will say it again, this whole system really sucks.

    The good news is that people are looking into this blog upon being prospected and are being deterred from having their lived run over. This my friends, does NOT suck.

  13. August 29, 2012 8:49 am

    Orrin said…”copious amounts of educational training through respected universities..”.
    I think “respected” is a key word here. There are many respected universities out there, but a TEAM/LIFE education will never be respected by a potential employer. When the TEAM pyramid eventually crumbles, what will little Jordan have to fall back on? He’ll be wishing he had a legitimate education then!

  14. August 29, 2012 9:00 am

    he should have chosen the system education -books, cds and association 🙂 what an entrepreneur will he become. Cultism does attract people like light bulb attracting flies. Most of them die striving to be great but not knowing the wrong path and destination some quit but no success!

  15. Former Round Table permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:19 am

    I remember waaaay back when Team was barely a pimple in Dexter Yager’s Amway business. Orrin and Laurie made fun of Dexter’s kids because none of them went to college. They were a “bunch of uneducated pretenders” in Orrin’s words. So, what does that make Jordan?

    BTW, it was one of Jordan’s closest friends who said, “You would not believe the lies we have to tell for the sake of the Team.” That statement was made in front of Jordan, who did not disagree, and about fifteen others.

  16. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:19 am

    @amway quitter: ohhhh, is that the (bug zapper reference) repeated “zapping” sound I heard in my head when my son was telling me off? LOL!! I sure hope he doesn’t end up being one of those bugs that mommy and family have to then scrape off of the zapper grate or light bulb.

    @Platinum Blond: was Orrin’s quote ‘for’ or ‘against’ higher education? I mean, they’ve been telling my son (in LIFE/team STEALTH under Dan Hawkins) that: we’ve all had mediocre educations (translation: we were not taught by Orrin Woodward since Roman-Greco times as to WHAT should constitute Western Civilization—I ain’t jokin’ here, either). They say in a Utube video and in blogs: they want to do the REVOLUTION (Reformation) of all public education and to restore culture to Western Civilzation (as it was meant to be, as interpreted by the Great Oracle of the American Delphi Psychic: Orrin Woodward).

  17. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:23 am

    @Former Round Table: holy smokes…you must go back all the way to at least the late ’70’s with Amway, eh? Because didn’t they start getting sued in 1979 and again in 1983, etc.? I think it was 1983 where the Amway owners claimed that no more than 10% of anything should come out of motivational materials/leadership side of the biz, right? Didn’t they tell a judge that in a case? When did Yager get the idea to roll initial training techniques into the essence of a cult?

  18. webelieved permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:39 am

    Former Round Table- I totally believe what you are saying. I feel so bad for the Team kids. While they benefit in material lifestyle from the business they also sacrifice a lot! I would bet they hate the business and yet love they their parents as they should, it has to be a terrible place to be. My kids hated the business tremedously. It stole a lot from them.
    I would bet that these kids are not listening to the cult rhetoric and see the hypocrisy in their own parents as they have been able to somewhat keep their critical thinking. I also know many are home schooled and therefore are more sheltered then the average kid. I agree with protecting kids but adding the closed society in Team leadership with the homeschooling, it has to be a double edged sword for them in some ways. Thanks for the info. I get excited to read your posts.

  19. August 29, 2012 9:48 am

    @AgeOfWisdom: I was just grabbing a portion of the quote at the top of the page. The entire quote was:

    “I explained to him [Jordan] that if he chose the 5% path, then he can self-educate himself as many leaders on the TEAM have. However, if he chose the 95% path, then he needs copious amounts of educational training through respected universities in order to advance through Corporate America.”

    Yes, indeed, Orrin has been pooh-poohing higher education since I got involved with the Team ten years ago (we have now been safely out for a couple of years). I wish you were joking with some of your quotes from him, but unfortunately I know from firsthand experience that you are spot on. How ridiculous it sounds to me now, but at the time, I totally trusted him, and I believed that electing Orrin as president would have been a great thing. It makes me sick to my stomach now!

  20. webelieved permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:55 am

    Blonde- I thought the same thing. Now I see him and it makes me sick, he looks like a snake oil salesman or the guy selling games at the carnival. Oh man was I brainwashed to trust these charlatans. I am so glad that we have a forum here to tell the truth. i would never do MLM again as this type of b.s. goes on all over the place. The companies make their millions and look the other way and the kingpins make theirs lying.

  21. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 10:01 am

    @Platinum Blond: ohhhhh, okay….gotcha. Yeah, one of the first things my indoctrinated, almost-40 something son yelled at me (during inital indoctrination) was about my mediocre, middle class education where I’d been taught all of the wrong things and I had no vision (THAT is what sent me on a quest to see what was up Woodward’s ideology sleeve in the first place.) Had to chuckle a few times when I read Woody’s words about his own mother…and I repeat: he said this was a LITERAL event: that she’d beat her head against a wall in order to get something done. He said she’d literally do this. Um, either she needed to be hospitalized OR get out of that house with growing 5 boys and a father who was obsessed with Socrates’s Socratic Method (debate methods) ideas about how to deal with the household–LOL!! (if that was me, I’d have checked myself in someplace just to get out of the house 🙂

  22. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 10:05 am

    @webelieved and @Platinum Blond: this is just a silly, comic aside, but every single time I hear Woodward on videos, my mind rushes back to when former President Bush got on TV, saying he wanted Hussein “dead or alive”….only Woodward talks faster and more nasal…but it’s similar in drawl…and I notice that Woodward gets so excited that he gets “hung up” sometimes and has to stop, too. Sorry about the “off point” here….

  23. August 29, 2012 11:42 am

    Let’s remind ourselves to keep things on point here. Comments should strive to stay on point with the original post.

  24. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 29, 2012 12:30 pm

    AMTHRAX: sorry, and sorry about misposting the Mon Avie video on this thread, too…

  25. Soon2BOut permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:45 pm

    All I can say, as of 6 months ago, Orrins kid was never mentioned about building the business. If I was his kid, I’d go away. Move out of his parents house and life a real life for once.

  26. not signed up yet permalink
    August 30, 2012 9:43 am

    Holy crap. Listen to the language “He was given the choice of college or joining the team”

    Wow. there are two other choices…go to work or join the military and get them to pay for college. Which but the way the military will teach you REAL LEADERSHIP principles and real INTEGRITY.

    I know several people who have gone to work for a couple years to save for college, and they have turned out fine. I also know people who have served in the military, went to college and worked after and they are okay too.

    With mandate like go college or join team, thats just weird.

    And that last statement “I told him he MUST MASTER the system” ….Orrin really is the control freak people say he is.

  27. ageofwisdom51 permalink
    August 30, 2012 10:48 am

    @notsignedupyet: you know, it’s lots of different types of “control”, too. I kid you not when I say Woodward wants to be the culture-recreator and education-recreator, and business-recreator of all of Westernized civilization. He admires WWII tactics of infiltration and domestication….well, that fits right in line with his world outlook and self-outlook of wanting to be the ‘Motivational Messiah’ of Christianity in the Westernized World and how LIFE is actually run from the inside, not on paper or public pontifications. Snoop the ‘net…find some of his articles.

  28. webelieved permalink
    August 30, 2012 8:32 pm

    Not signed Up- I feel sorry for the kid. Hopefully he doesn’t listen to the cds or go to the meetings. I cannot even imagine.

  29. not signed up yet permalink
    August 31, 2012 5:08 am

    I don’t feel sorry for Orrins kid at all. he can make up his own mind, but I would imagine he;d catch hell if he doesn’t do TEAM. Or if Orrin really wants one million people, why not fill the kids trunk with tools send him to college and try to get more people? That would actually make business sense, if I agreed with TEAMs business.

  30. webelieved permalink
    August 31, 2012 6:06 am

    The kids of leaders in this group are the victims in all of this. They lose the most of what’s really important in life. He will catch hell. Orrin Woodward is a master at manipulation, guilt tactics etc. I cannot imagine what it would be like living under him. I just hope his kids aren’t brainwashed like the rest of Orrin’s followers.
    I would bet they can see the hypocrisy. Kids are smart.

  31. Cali permalink
    August 31, 2012 12:07 pm

    “I love systems.” barf. I do feel sorry for the kids, because they don’t really have a choice without being left out in the cold. Father’s love or College/Military/Vocation? Hm… I hope Jordan becomes one of those kids who runs off to Central America and becomes a surfer stoner who lives on the beach. If I were a Team kid I would try to hard to be a disappointment, which would include writing a (true) memoir about growing up in Team. I know a lot of parents make coerce their kids into making decisions about their destiny based on what they would like them to do but I am so thankful my parents never did that.

    Even “leaders” who are revered (someone mentioned John Lennon and the problems his son faced) such as Gandhi – he was all about peace right? But overall he was a political leader not a spiritual one, he never said anything about India’s Caste system and was so focused on discipline and telling others what they should be doing but his son committed suicide. Why do people quote him all the time without thinking about this tragic fact, and question who he really was or what is really important in one’s life? For me it’s a no brainer, I would exchange all of the people grovelling at my feet, even if it were millions, even if I were truly helping them, for the good relationship with my child. I don’t think the kids of “Gurus” are stupid at all, but they are in a pretty crappy position.

  32. webelieved permalink
    August 31, 2012 3:49 pm

    Cali- I LOVE your post! I hope he becomes a surfer too. Or at least follows HIS dreams not his father’s. I think in the next few years we will see the fallout of the Team leaders’ kids. I pray for the strength to live the truth, for every one of them. They are in a terrible, pressure situation. I do know one PC’s kid that could fit right in, what you said about a “surfer stoner” LOL! That kid is living his own life from what I can tell and I say GOOD FOR HIM !!!

  33. Cali permalink
    September 2, 2012 7:11 am

    That’s really great to hear, I hope his strength is an example to the other kids.

  34. September 18, 2012 9:19 am

    Jordan is making copies of team cd’s and running errands at the team office in flint mi. As far as i know he is not working the “business” or going to college. Orrin is probably looking for someone else to blame for his kids rebellion.

  35. Speak Your Truth permalink
    September 18, 2012 11:16 am

    Team deception~

    Thanks for sharing. I do hope Jordan finds his “own” way in life, and not the pressure to conform to what his dad wants to make himself look good. Jordan is making copies of team cd’s, haha, sorry that seems really funny to me. I thought they had an outside company that did that? I believe you are right, Orrin blames everyone, then turns around and calls them blaming, unbiblical, victims. Such hypocrisy. And wonder just HOW does orrin sleep at night?!

  36. webelieved permalink
    September 18, 2012 2:32 pm

    I feel sorry for Jordan. I would never want to be Orrin’s kid, no way!
    I wonder if he will ever find this site and see what his dad has done to people? That would be very hard…..

  37. webelieved permalink
    September 18, 2012 2:33 pm

    It would be truly amazing for a Team kid to come out and tell the truth about their life in Team.

  38. No Team For Me permalink
    September 18, 2012 6:58 pm

    I believe it’s only a matter of time before one of the kids comes on here and shares the truth of what really goes on behind the scenes. Those kids are heavily brainwashed. But at some point, one of them will get far enough outside of the cult and have friends that have read this site.

    I truly do feel sorry for all the PC kids.

  39. Freedomhaha permalink
    October 9, 2012 2:30 pm

    One of the PC kids coming on here is bound to happen. Correct me if I am wrong, but didn’t that happen in MonaVie and was discussed on Amthrax? No amount of money in the world could make me want to be Orrins son. I am so blessed not to have dragged any other family members in the cult with me.

  40. October 10, 2012 11:02 am

    It was Dallin Larsen’s son that had made some comments on Facebook. They were eventually deleted. The son seemed to also have some other problems in his life (perhaps substance abuse), but details are scant.

  41. Freedomhaha permalink
    October 10, 2012 1:06 pm

    Thanks for your work Amthrax.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

