Skip to content

Ex-TEAM Reader Q&A: Soon2BOut

January 27, 2013

Soon2BOut has been commenting on this site since the last quarter of 2012. During that time, she’s gone from being Soon2BOut to just plain out of TEAM and The LIFE Business. Here’s her responses to the Ex-TEAM Questions and Answers questionnaire. If you are an Ex-TEAM member and would like to participate, go to the link above, fill it out, and send it to me via email at amthrax – at – ymail – dot – com.


Joining TEAM

Tell us a little bit about your situation prior to joining TEAM?

I was a young 20 something with a child. I was working two jobs and going to school full time. I wanted to provide a great life for my child, just like any parent would. I was always tired, always sad whenever I had to leave my beautiful child behind.

How were you approached to join TEAM?

My co-worker and best friend (at the time) had been in TEAM for a few years and she said ‘if you ever wanted to make extra money, I have a great way for you to be a stay at home mom, or atleast replace your income so you can focus more of your time doing things you want to do and have the life you always wanted’. So, of course I was excited. I wanted to start paying off my student loans because I was about to graduate college, and no one looks forward to being in almost 100,000 dollars in loan debt. I went to a very, well respected university, and with any huge school, huge bills come along with it. I was tired of working from 11 am til 3 am (having crazy bartending jobs leads to very long hours). I wanted more time with my daughter and I was tired of wondering how I was going to put food on the table, pay my rent, all the other lovely bills that come with being a single mom living on your own. Since I was an economics major, when my friend brought up Robert Kiyosaki, thats what really hooked me. I am a huge fan of his, met him at serveral seminars. If these people were tied to him, I knew it had to be something amazing.

What attracted you to TEAM? Money, of course.

I wouldn’t say money makes the world go around, but it defiantly helps by giving it a good shove.

At the time you joined, what MLM company was TEAM aligned with? For instance, what products were you trying to sell?

We started with MonnaVie. The energy drinks were always so popular. I am a fan of energy drinks. They kept using the phrase “You eat and drink everyday, might as well be something healthy, and you will get paid for it too. Does the grocery store pay you to shop there? No, But we do!” Then, Life was rolled out. All of the sudden, MonnaVie wasn’t a big deal anymore. That started to get me to wonder.

How much money was told she could/would make and in what time frame (or implied)?

We could make as much money as we could ever dream of. It was a 2-5 year process. You could be as rich as Orrin Woodward. You can have so much money, you’d have no idea what to do with it.

Did they entice you with what they were making?

Yes. I asked my best friend how much she made. She was ‘honest’ she says I am not a millionaire yet, but I will be very close. I will retire at the age of 24. It’s hard to say how much they pay me, but no matter what I do, or how much I do, they still pay me. At every open, they had the MonnaVie ranking poster and put a star next to the level at witch the speaker was at.

Was their promises of passive, residual, ongoing income promoted?

Oh yes. They ALWAYS used the whole ” big a ditch for a water source, do the work yourself, then you can have other people do it for you. just turn on the switch and boom! you don’t even have to be there for it.” They also used a McDonalds example, such as “how many times do you see the OWNER of the McDonalds. Never. They have a system in place”

Working The Business

On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the highest, how hard would you say you worked the system?

10. I dropped one of my jobs and ran the roads constantly. Every Tuesday I made sure I bring an extra person. Once they were in, I made sure my new person brought in another new person. I wanted results, and I wanted them fast. I would show the plan every where I went. My morning stop at Starbucks turned into a lovely place to show the plan to anyone who was near me.

Did you attend all the monthly seminars?

I only missed one in the two years I was involed. And boy…did I get in so much trouble with my upline. I didn’t go because I had the fever and I kept throwing up. No one cared. They told me I should of brought a barf bag.

Did you attend all the quarterly Major Functions?

Ugh, don’t remind me. Never ever missed one. After missing a small senimar, and all that trouble my upline gave me, I was scared to see what they would say once I suggested I may not even go.

With all this time spent in meetings, when did you go out and prospect people?

It was hard, not even going to lie. Once my child was in bed, i’d invite people over to show the plan. I was even on a dating website and I would get as many people as I could to STP. I was constantly sending people video links of Orrin and Chris, trying to hook them in. And it worked 🙂

What places did you go to do your prospecting?

We were told not to go to public places, but I did it anyway. I did a lot of cold-calling on people on the trains when I would commuite to the city going to school, I would STP while working to get people who came into my bar involved with TEAM.

How much time did you spend working your business each week?

Include time spent at meetings and prospecting. Like I said, I had to quit my second job in order to keep up.

Were you aware of websites or individuals critical to TEAM?

We were told that people post things on the internet, but they have no name, no face, no nothing. They didn’t have the results that you want

What was your opinion of the critics?

Just like how every Pro-Teamer posts. I just assumed they were all quitters and there was no way they actually followed each step. I did, and I made power player.

How did you become aware of websites or individuals critical to TEAM? Did they criticize the critics from stage at every seminar and or just behind the scenes?

Both. They had me so brainwashed. I mean, come on, there is a cd on how to deal with critics. Because everyone on the internet who bashes team has no face, they don’t post their name, they are nothing. Their opinions shouldn’t matter. Everytime someone said to me that this was a pryimid, I responded with the typical “Your corperate job is a prymid scheme!” I sounded exactly like the cd.

Did you shun people who didn’t join TEAM?

Everyone who opposed team, yes. I stopped hanging out with my real friends because I was too busy running the roads and building my buisness.

Were the people you now hung out with just TEAM members?

At most times, it felt like such. They were there for me whenever I was upset or dealing with how crazy life can get. But they had a hidden movtive: they wanted to make sure I was still doing my job, you know, chasing my dream.

What did you do outside of your TEAM business?

For instance, sporting activities, date nights, volunteer work, etc. I had no time to do anything. That I wanted to do!

Concerns About The Business

When you joined, did you know that the TEAM leadership made a substantial amount of money from the sale of tools (tapes, CD’s, marketing materials) and function tickets?

Nope. Profit sharing from Tools was not talked about.

During your time, did TEAM join another MLM company or start selling other company’s products? If so, how was this change communicated? Did you have any problems or concerns regarding this transition?

No.

[Editor’s note: Soon2BOut provided additional clarification on her response.]

I would consider LIFE a new MLM in addition to TEAM. So, I guess while being in TEAM, I had joined a new MLM. There was a huge push to get everyone registered. I remember calling people who were already inactive in TEAM to let them know about this ‘new and exciting change’ and how ‘this will help you achive the life you always wanted’. We were told the more subscriptions we signed up for, the better our life will be, and more money we make. I basically just spent more money on useless cd’s that were already passed down on the TEAM system. It was the same crap over and over again. They preached TEAM and God (witch was fine, but the useage of Christianity to help sell subscriptions, kinda sick if you ask me). I couldn’t just hand a cd over to someone else and be like “see, this is the type of things LIFE can help you with” without the mention of TEAM in EVERY cd.

When did you start having doubts about the effectiveness of TEAM and the business opportunity?

It started when Life was rolled out. I was confused on why MonnaVie was rarely talked about and that enrolling our new people into MonnaVie was no longer important.

Do you know your group’s attrition rate? Upline and downline groups.

[Editor’s note: Soon2BOut originally forgot to answer this question. Here is her response.]

Once LIFE rolled out, for the first few weeks, everyone signed onto a subscribtion or two. By month two, a good portion of my 2nd leg cut atleast one subscription. In my taproot leg, during the Major, EVERYONE was buying multiple cd’s, the same cd exactly, to help pass out to new prospects to help them lure people into signing onto TEAM, or atleast buying LIFE subscriptions from them. After it didn’t work so well in their favor, they also cut down on the amount of subscriptions they got. Percentage wise, not sure, but it was a noticeable difference.

How many were ‘on system’ (and got off) out of total numbers in group during your time in TEAM?

Oh god….when I started my second leg, my first ten were all on system. When Life rolled out, only 3 stayed on. Then I put in an additonal 5, only two of them stayed on system. When the MFC rolled out, I had about 25 people in my second leg, only 4 of them were on system. One of those four had hit power player, and none of their 2nd leg were on system anymore.

What finally pushed you over the edge and made you quit TEAM?

I was standing up in a wedding and I had to miss the first night of a major. I got yelled at for that, and then my upline asked me why I didn’t want to sit on the floor at the major with the other Power Players. I said “well, I actually am not a power player anymore, I no longer qaulify” and then I was told to go back down and sit there regardless, walk across the stage the following night. We did go ten deep again, but only 3 people were on system. My upline bought someones system that night so I can walk across stage. They faked me being a real power player. I walked across stage, like a dumbass, waving my stupid flag, and I looked down. All these people cheering me on for something I really didn’t deserve. This was the major of the MFC roll out. There were so many unaswered questions. I was like ‘how the hell can they possibly provide all these expensive trips? this makes no sense’

Conservatively, how much money did you spend as part of TEAM?

I was full on system. Both team tools, monnavie, and life tools. I honestly couldn’t tell you. there is a lot more then just being on system. As I mentioned before, I have a child, I had to pay a baby sitter for everytime I had to go to a seminar, ladies leadership, major. Then paying for the gas to travel. When I first started, we didn’t have webinars or team casts. I had to drive almost 2 hours to get to the Tuesday open. Where I live, gas is over 4 dollars. People asked me how much money I made from team. I made a lot actually…but there is a difference. There was hardly any profit. On a GREAT month, it was about 75 dollar profit….if I was lucky. Most times, I broke even…barely.

How much time did you ultimately spend on the business?

24/7. Non stop.

If you knew about the public records of some of the TEAM leadership — bankruptcies, strategic defaults, and foreclosures — would this have hasten your departure from TEAM?

YES!!!!! I am so glad this website showed me this.

What did you do with all of the tools that you purchased?

Hahahahaha, I burned them 🙂

Looking Ahead

Given the choice to join TEAM again, would you do it?

No, I’d slap my friend.

What lessons did you learn from your TEAM experience?

That people will be nice to you, care about you, for their own good. Stick to your real friends. Life may be stressful at times, but real hard work and not faking your way through things, will get you much furthur in life. And anyone who Forbes bashes…you have to stay away from.

What advice would you give to people who have left TEAM?

Love what you have now. It’s hard sometimes when your team friends stop talking to you, but, your real friends will always be there for you. It was really sad once I left team and made it public, I hit major milestones in my life and not one said anything about it to me. Chase your real dreams, not a dream painted by Orrin or Chris.

What advice would you give to current TEAM members?

Run away. Run fast.

Any last words?

I am so glad I do not have to show the plan anymore. I am glad I get to tuck my child into bed every night. I am glad to have my youth and I can enjoy watching my child grow up. I enjoy everything I have because I worked for it….I didn’t have to hurt anyone fincially or brainwash them into doing things for me.


Here are some more Ex-TEAM Q&A’s that you may be interested in reading.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2013 9:00 am

    Thanks for this Soon2BOut. All of this sounds an awful lot like those who get out of any MLM.

    The freedom concept is all well and good, but it just doesn’t deliver. In the meantime, people get hurt, feel betrayed, and end up financially damaged for the most part.

    What makes this so distasteful is that Orrin Woodward and Co. all know that this happens over and over and over. They don’t care.

    They change their name and carry on. I’m glad you were able to see the truth, and Amthrax deserves tremendous kudos for having this available.

    I would recommend that any ex TEAM/LIFE member direct their former downline to this site and challenge your former group to discredit what has been revealed here.

    All the best Soon2BOut! These people like Orrin Woodward and Chris Brady are the newer wolves in sheep’s clothing our parents read us stories about.

    No they won’t harm you physically but they will take every last cent you have if you aren’t careful and don’t think critically.

  2. MemoryLame permalink
    January 27, 2013 5:14 pm

    Great article!

    Soon2Bout, I have one question. Obviously, many of us don’t use our real names here – yet. I know why I do it, but I don’t want to put words in your mouth. Could you tell us why you use a pseudonym here still?

  3. Freedomhaha permalink
    January 27, 2013 8:53 pm

    This story will help so many others. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Soon2BOut permalink
    January 28, 2013 7:59 am

    I friended a few people on here on facebook, so if you want to find me on facebook, send Amthrax an email and I am sure he’d be willing to send me your email so I can friend you. I use the name because if I see something posted on this website and if there are any unanswered questions, I could ask my former best friend about TEAM. Her and I have been friends for so long, I am still trying to repair our friendship. And at the end of the day, I worry about her. I really want her to meet Raquel.

    If she knew I was one of these “nameless, faceless people, on the internet just bashing the all mighty God errrr Orrin Woodward” she wouldn’t fill me in on TEAM. The more inside information I can get, the more I can post on here.

  5. Mike Bickel permalink
    January 28, 2013 8:42 am

    Well – as one of the very few people who comment on this site who never was and never will be in any sort of MLM, but saw many of my good friends get sucked in to the dream, get their money taken, and ended up getting shunned by their alleged MLM team members, I have a suggestion about this whole incognito thing. If there are any TEAM/LIFE members who are no long TEAM/LIFE and trying to get their “real life” together after this awful experience – just send ME your resume using a REAL email address and I will communicate with you to help buff and polish it up and give you some advice and recommendations. My name is Mike Bickel – I’ve posted on this site before and you can send an initial email and resume (attachment) to me (bickel485@aol.com) and IF you still are goosey about letting anyone know your real name, just make up another email address and make up a name of your own on the resume and I will STILL help you out by giving you advice using that email. I personally would like to see this wonderful AMTHRAX-driven site be used in a way that not only WARNS about TEAM/LIFE but also has a capability to HELP those who wash up on the shore from this awful pyramid structure. As I’ve said in the past: The Children of Israel were led AWAY from the Pyramids to the Promised Land – not the other way around.

  6. freedomhaha permalink
    January 28, 2013 12:21 pm

    Mike- Maybe when Orrin reads your comment he will learn a thing or two about real service and leadership.

  7. Soon2BOut permalink
    January 28, 2013 5:11 pm

    Since leaving TEAM, I got myself together. I have a job that I LOVE, I have an amazing family, so I guess I can say I am living the life I always wanted—without Orrin and The Team.

  8. Raquel Peters permalink
    January 28, 2013 6:08 pm

    Soon 2 be out- Thank you for sharing. I believe your story will help others! Thanks for having the courage to speak out!

  9. Raquel Peters permalink
    January 28, 2013 6:11 pm

    Mike thanks for your offer. we may take you up on it. Its especially hard to define on a resume what we did for years of our life in the Team.

  10. Jman permalink
    February 21, 2013 12:48 am

    Soon to be out I remember when I couldn’t make a major because I wanted to bond with my brother to see the band NIN. Wow the response I got from my upline was ask yourself this what is going to make you rich NIN or the major. I am glad I pick:)ed the concert over the major. 🙂

  11. freedomhaha permalink
    February 21, 2013 8:52 am

    Jman- Freedom is a beautiful thing.

  12. February 21, 2013 10:23 am

    @Jman

    Rich? Your former upline said rich? Now ain’t that sacrilege to mlm’s always feigned mission achoo achoo, of “making a difference?” Gee, not surprised that went over like a parturient pole vaulter. Great choice btw!

  13. jman permalink
    February 24, 2013 1:56 am

    Its funny how orrin has so many contradictions first he would say we arent amway which technically “we were” second he would say we have the best products and then amway and orrin are no longer and he makes that bs website free the ibo. Just is crazy how people get duped into thinking he has inegrity

  14. jman permalink
    February 24, 2013 1:57 am

    *integrity

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.

