Skip to content

ESPN on AdvoCare

March 18, 2016
tags:

AdvoCare is a multi-level marketing company company that sells nutritional products (sound familiar)? What’s different from other MLM companies is that they have a large number of notable sports athletes (such as NFL Quarterbacks Drew Brees, Andy Dalton, Philip Rivers, and Alex Smith) that are endorsing the company and its product.

This week, ESPN ran a lengthy expose on AdvoCare and raised the question on whether or not the company is a pyramid scheme. AdvoCare rallies, meetings, and presentations described in the ESPN article share many of the same characteristics that have been described on this blog and others that are critical of MLM businesses.

LazyMan and Money expanded on his previous analysis of AdvoCare in an updated post today. Check it out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. No More Reliv permalink
    October 7, 2016 8:16 am

    Thanks for the info on AdvoCare. I went to a college reunion and got a sales pitch from a friend. My ex got us involved in Reliv years ago and I got sales pitched for months by a former boyfriend on LIFE. I knew this was the right place to go for the real story on on AdvoCare. I was even given a free sample of something called Spark. I’m not into energy drinks. Maybe I’ll just toss it?

  2. freedomhaha permalink
    October 10, 2016 12:52 pm

    Amthrax community… helping people every single day.

  3. No More Reliv permalink
    October 16, 2016 4:06 pm

    By the way, I did try that Advocate Spark sample. It was nasty stuff. I dumped it down the drain. I later remembered that I had a co-worker do the AdvoCare 21-day challenge which only resulted in making her very sick. Bad product, even worse “business opportunity.”

  4. January 22, 2017 10:27 am

    I can say of the pyramid schemes that concern me, Advocare is the top of my list, mostly due to my common acquaintances that seemed to at one time WORSHIP it. The hype around me, thankfully seemed to fade out sometime in the beginning of 2016, I thought perhaps they were gone, but when researching a direct sales article I wanted to write for the blog I sadly found they’re repugnant manipulative value system was still around…somewhere.

Leave a Reply. Because your thoughtful opinions are valued, you are encouraged to add a comment to this discussion. Don't be offended if your comments are edited for clarity or to keep out questionable matters. Off-topic and inflammatory comments may be deleted. Comments on this website are the sole responsibility of their writers. The accuracy, completeness, veracity, honesty, exactitude, factuality and politeness of comments are not guaranteed.